Thompson to be next PCSP chairperson

Drew Thompson. INLS0914-126KM
Drew Thompson. INLS0914-126KM

Former Mayor of Derry Drew Thompson is expected to be named as the new chairperson of the Derry Policing and Community Safety Partnership today.

The DUP alderman will be nominated for the position at the monthly meeting of Derry City Council in the Guildhall this afternoon.

The Policing and Community Safety Partnership (PSCP) brings together a rang of bodies to work with the PSNI on community policing matters.

Among the organisations represented are; the Northern Ireland Housing Executive, Youth Justice Agency, Policing Board, Western Heath and Social Care Trust, and the Western Education and Library Board.

The partnership includes elected members of Derry City Council as well as independent members, a number of whom are community workers.

The current chair is Sinn Féin councillor Paul Fleming and his term of office is set to end on March 31st. SDLP colr. Thomas Conway was the previous chair. The position of chairperson is rotated among the four parties on Derry City Council.

At this afternoon’s meeting in the Guildhall, councillors will be asked to approve the nomination of alderman Thompson.

PCSP chairs are entitled to claim an allowance of £60 per meeting up to a maximum of 30 meetings per year and the allowance is funded by the joint committee of the Policing Board and the Department of Justice.

The PCSP replaced the former District Policing Partnership in April 2012 and holds regular meetings where members of the public are given the opportunity to ask questions to senior local PSNI officers.