Derry team to play UUJ announced

Derry manager John Brennan. (1001PG32)
Derry manager John Brennan. (1001PG32)

Derry manager John Brennan has made 10 changes to his starting line-up for Saturday’s McKenna Cup clash with UUJ from the side that started last Sunday’s one-point win over Cavan.

There are three debutants in the line-up with Kilrea duo goalkeeper Paul Morgan and corner-back Liam Morrow rewarded for fine campaigns in last summer’s club championship.

There’s a first start also for Neil Forrester of Derry city club Steelstown who played on the minor side that reached the 2007 All-Ireland final being given a chance to impress in the number 10 shirt after an excellent club season in 2011.

As manager John Brennan surveys his options, Ryan Dillon of Swatragh returns for a first appearance since Damien Cassidy’s reign, Aidan McAlynn of Loup is named at right half-back while Gerard O’Kane is named in an unfamiliar position at left half-forward.

Four players who made an impact off the bench against the Breffni side are rewarded with starting berths; Michael Bateson, Mark Lynch, Ciaran McGoldrick and last week’s match-winner Niall Holly.

From last week’s starting line-up last year’s captain Barry McGoldrick drops to the bench alongside Chrissy McKaigue, Emmett McGuckin and Eoghan Brown while Joe Diver returns to the squad for meeting with Poly after recovering from an eye operation.

DERRY: Paul Morgan; Brian McCallion, Liam Morrow, Ryan Dillon; Aidan McAlynn, Dermot McBride, Michael Bateson, John McCamley, Niall Holly; Neill Forrester, Mark Lynch, Gerard O’Kane, Enda Lynn, Cailean O’Boyle, Ciaran McGoldrick.