Shamrock Rovers 1-3 Derry City

editorial image

Derry City have beaten Shamrock Rovers 3-1 under the lights at the Tallaght Stadium tonight.

It was a game that Declan Devine’s men certainly deserved to win and goals from Stephen McLaughlin, Rory Patterson and Barry McNamee ensured that all three points travelled back up the M1 with the Candy Stripes.

Derry may have one eye already on next month’s FAI Cup final and despite having very little left to play for in the Premier Division, Declan Devine has made no secret of the fact that he wanted to win his remaining two league fixtures of 2012.

Barry McNamee attempted to find the back of the net in the third minute but his long range effort was deflected into the hands of Oscar Jannson.

Derry took the lead three minutes later when Rory Patterson set-up Stephen McLaughlin to head the ball past Jannson.

Shamrock Rovers’ first chance of the game came in the 18th minute when Ronan Finn’s shot was deflected wide.

Barry McNamee almost scored from a corner in the 24th minute when he connected with a Stephen Rice clearance; unfortunately for McNamee it was easily smothered by Jannson.

Derry City doubled their lead in the 30th minute when Rory Patterson converted from penalty spot.

Stephen McLaughlin found team mate Patterson inside the box but Jannson fouled the Strabane man inside the area, the referee pointed to the spot and produced Jannson with a yellow card.

Derry scored their third of the night when McLaughlin played an amazing ball through to McNamee inside the area.

McNamee remained cool and collected and slotted his first senior goal for Derry City into the back of the net.

Rovers netted a consolation goal when substitute and former Derry City player Thomas Stewart scored in injury time.

Meanwhile, Sligo Rovers were crowned 2012 Airtricity Premier League champions when they beat St. Patrick’s Athletic 3-2 at the Showgrounds earlier on.

Next up for Derry City is their final Premier Division game of the season against St. Patrick’s Athletic at the Brandywell next Friday evening, kick-0ff 7.45pm.

SHAMROCK ROVERS: Oscar Jannson; Ken Oman, Conor Powell, Craig Sives, Pat Sullivan; Sean Gannon, Ronan Finn (Shane O’Connor 27 mins), Billy Dennehy (Aaron Green 56 mins), Stephen Rice, Ciaran Kilduff, Gary Twigg (Thomas Stewart 76 mins).

Subs not used: Reyaad Pieterse; Gary O’Neill; Graham Gartland

DERRY CITY: Gerard Doherty; Shane McEleney, Dermot McCaffrey, Simon Madden, Stewart Greacen; Barry Molloy (David McDaid 59 mins), Barry McNamee, Ruaidhri Higgins, Marc Brolly, Rory Patterson (Conor Murphy 73 mins), Stephen McLaughlin.

Subs not used: Ryan McBride, Eugene Ferry, Kevin Deery, Ryan Curran.

REFEREE: Mr. Paul McLaughlin.