Eddie Claims the Big One at Prehen!

Eddie Maxwell winner of Mr Ciaran Burke's Captain's prize at City of Derry
Eddie Maxwell winner of Mr Ciaran Burke's Captain's prize at City of Derry
Have your say

Eddie Maxwell (12) hit the jackpot on Saturday last when taking home City of Derry Golf Club’s Centenary Captain’s Prize (Mr. Ciaran Burke).

One of the earlier starters, Eddie made the most of the inclement weather conditions to return 38 points and that score eventually proved to be best of the day for what proved a very popular winner.

No less than five players recorded the second best score of the day on 37 points and the best of those following the tie-breaks was Jarleath Clarke (10) followed by Tony McDermott (13) and Damian King (15) for 2nd, 3rd and 4th places respectively.

Kealan Quigg (scr.) equalled the winning score of 38 points to secure the best gross prize and Ernie Heywood (1) was best in category one with 34 points.

Gary McKinney (10) won the 6 to 11 category on 37 points, Eddie Porter (17) won category 12 to 17 with 35 points and Ken McClintock won category 18 to 28 with 37 points.

Eddie Mitchell (15) emerged the best veteran of the day with 34 points while Andrew Dickson (16), Dan Hinds (2) and Luke Hasson (2) were the prizewinners in that order in the Captain’s Prize to the club’s juvenile section.

Dubliner Wins Foyle’s

Anniversary Open

The annual Cable & Accessories sponsored Anniversary Open Stableford played on Saturday last Foyle, enjoyed a good turnout with the competitors having to endure heavy rain and a stiff breeze making scoring difficult.

However, in the end, a three-way break of tie was called up to decide the main winners and Dublin visitor, Ronan Carroll, emerged victorious over Stephen Moore and Declan McKinney, all three players returning scores of 39 points.

Full results were - Anniversary Open - 1, break of tie, Ronan Carroll (19) 39 points; 2, Stephen Moore (15) 39; 3, Declan McKinney (13) 39; gross, Paul McGuigan, 34; visitor, Brian McRory (21), Greencastle, 27; back nine, Gary McEvoy (7) 23; juvenile, Oran Harkin (23) 35.

The C.S.S. was 34 pts

Meanwhile, Paul McGuigan produced an excellent three under par score to take top honours in last week’s Foyle Friday Open Stableford.

Results were - Friday Open - 1, Paul McGuigan (2) 41 points; 2, James Meehan (25) 40; 3, Kevin O’Kane (15) 39; visitor, Conor McGurgan (3), Lurgan, 35.

Crumley Constructioin Monthly Medal - Wednesday, July 25th - Category 0-11, Shane Bonnar, 64 nett; Category 12-17, Calvin Mooney, 66; Category 18+ Jon McMenamin, 67.

After 26 rounds - with the 10 best scores to count - in the P & L Electrics “Golfer of the Year,” Cormac McGeady has taken a nine point lead with the chasing pack in close contention.

Leading positions are - 1, Cormac McGeady, 374 points; 2, Mark McKeone, 365; 3, Mark McMenamin, 364; 4, Paul McGuigan, 359; 5, Martin Kivelehan, 356; 6, Seamus McLaughlin, 354; 7, Stephen Doherty, 353.

Forthcoming competitions - tomorrow (Wed.), P.F.S. Accountants Open Stableford

Wednesday 1st August OPEN Stableford Sponsored by P.F.S. Accountants; Friday, August 3rd, Foyle Friday Open; Saturday, August 4th, Charity Open in aid of Foyle Hospice. Book online at www.foylegolfcentre.co.uk or telephone 02871-352222.

Foyle Ladies

Foyle Golf Club’s Darren Clarke Mixed Foursomes reached a conclusion on Tuesday last, July 24th when finalists, Martin Loughrey and Sheila McLaughlin, Tommy Bradley and Christine McCafferty played for the Margaret Lapsley Trophy. A very tense and exciting match resulted in Martin and Sheila taking top honours.

The competition has been played over the summer months with the following pairings winning the individual competitions - Martin Loughrey and Bridget Edwards, Martin Loughrey and Carol Scoltock, Chris Lynch and Agnes McLaughlin, Kevin Dunn and Christine McCafferty, Cormac McGeady and Anne Hamilton.

Mr Captain Eddie Ball thanked Sheila McLaughlin and Kevin Dunn for organising the event, which raised £500 for the Darren Clarke Charity.

Greencastle Ladies

The Carrick-A-Man Cup was staged last Thursday at Greencastle Ladies Branch, the latest in the ‘Player of the Year’ competitions and Sandra McConnell (23) walked away with top prize having returned 37 points. Next best was new member, Kath Tidey (23) with 35 points. Also on 35 points was the Lady Captain, Betty Gallagher and she finished in third after a break of tie. The gross went to Pauline Casey.

The Lifeline Inishowen Open Stableford takes place this Thursday and a timesheet is in operation.