‘Momentous Times’ launched at Centre for Contemporary Art

Anja Kirschner and David Panos, Ultimate Substance (2012), HD video still. Courtesy of the artists and Hollybush Gardens. (30913JC1)

Anja Kirschner and David Panos, Ultimate Substance (2012), HD video still. Courtesy of the artists and Hollybush Gardens. (30913JC1)

Have your say

The Centre for Contemporary Art in Derry will launch an exciting new exhibition entitled ‘Momentous Times’ tomorrow, Saturday, September 7, inspired by the centenary of the Dublin Lockout.

The exhibition, featuring new and recent artworks by Irish and international artists, begins with a Public Forum at the CCA at 10-12 Artillery Street from 12noon until 6pm tomorrow. This will be followed by the opening reception at CCA from 6pm until 9pm, and all are welcome.

The first two decades of the 20th century were undeniably momentous for people of Ireland on many fronts. There were major strikes for dock, tram, and factory workers from Belfast to Cork, Galway to Limerick, from 1907 to 1913, culminating in the Dublin Lockout - one of the longest and widest-reaching strikes in Irish history.

The recent centenary of the Lockout has prompted CCA to consider conditions of labour and the role of representation in shaping work and workers’ rights between three moments: 1913, 2013, and 2113. Through an exhibition, public forums, screenings, and a publication, Momentous Times examines the past, explores the present, and speculates about the future of labour.

Momentous Times, curated by CCA co-directors Aileen Burns and Johan Lundh, features new and recent artworks by ten artists. Most of them have never exhibited here before. Next Monday and also on Saturday November 2, CCA will host public forums moderated by scholar and writer Marina Vishmidt.

The exhibition also includes a free screenings and talks.

Artists involved in the exhibition and screenings are: Sarah Browne, Colin Darke, Aideen Doran, Toril Johannessen, Harun Farocki, Marianne Flotron, Melanie Gilligan, Anja Kirschner & David Panos, Tom Flanagan & Megs Morley, Olivia Plender, Allan Sekula & Noël Burch, Raqs Media Collective and Hito Steyerl.

Forums will feature Maria Chehonadskih, Mark Curran, Angela Dimitrakaki, Eamonn McCann, John Roberts, Precarious Workers Brigade, Kerstin Stakemeier, Anthony Iles, Marina Vishmidt and Josefine Wikström.