Derry Girls emotional series finale nominated for ‘TV Moment of the Year’

The moving series finale of ‘Derry Girls’ has been nominated for the Edinburgh TV Festival’s ‘TV Moment of the Year.’

The festival is one of the most prestigious media events in the UK and the Derry Girls moment has been shortlisted along with seven others, including Jean Slater going to Southend in Eastenders, Sam Ryder’s performance on Eurovision, Nick and Charlie’s first kiss in Heartstopper, Rose and Giovanni’s Couples Choice Dance in Strictly Come Dancing, Shruti breaks the fourth wall in ‘This is Going to Hurt’ and Succession.

The winner will be announced during a live Edinburgh TV Awards ceremony, hosted by Sophie Duker, on Thursday, August 25. The winner will be decided by public vote and Derry Girls writer Lisa McGee took to Twitter on Tuesday to ask those who liked the finale to ‘give us a wee vote.’

(L-R)Orla McCool (Louisa Clare Harland), (James Maguire (Dylan Llewellyn), DEIRDRE MALLON (Amelia Crowley),Clare Devlin (Nicola Coughlan) , Sarah Mccool (Kathy Kiera Clarke),Erin Quinn (Saoirse Monica Jackson), Michelle Mallon (Jamie-Lee O'Donnell), Mary Quinn (Tara Lynne Oâ€TMNeill), Gerry Quinn (Tommy Tiernan), Cara (Darcey McNeeley), Granda Joe (Ian McElhinney), Gerladine Devlin (Philippa Dunne). Photo: Peter Marley.