Cup Final Fever - Remember 1964?

Derry City's 1964 IFA cup winning team. (2610 lm 71)
Derry City's 1964 IFA cup winning team. (2610 lm 71)

Pictured are the IFA Cup winning Derry City team of 1964.

Derry travelled to Windsor Park to face old adversary, Glentoran in what was a dramatic final. Thousands of City fans travelled to support the Candystripes and though they watched what many reports describe as a largely forgettable football match they’ll recall forever at least the last few minutes. With the game heading toward a replay, Derry slotted home twice in the final two minutes.

First Joey Wilson found some space to feed the ball to the legendary Fay Coyle. Coyle then played a return ball over the top of the oncoming Glens defence to play Wilson into space. Rounding the keeper Wilson beat both Finlay’s attempted save and the raised flag of a linesman - there was no such thing as assistant referees in those days.

Things got even better for the already jubilant Derry supporters, at least for those who hadn’t left early believing the game would end scoreless. Matt Doherty turned on the style in the final minute to beat two defenders after Fay Coyle had found him with a long ball. With Finlay stranded between Doherty’s approach and that of the other City forwards he could do nothing as Matt finished the chance in style and the Cup was on the way to Foyleside.

The ‘64 final will always be remembered for those late goals but a look at the Derry team sheet shows a strength that forever proved hard to recapture.

At back from left are manager Willie Ross. He’s joined by Johnny McKenzie, Fay Coyle, goalkeeper Eddie Mahon, Billy Cathcart, Dougie Wood, Dan Watson (trainer). At front from left are Matt Doherty, Joey Wilson, Captain Frankie Campbell, Jimmy McGeough, Jimbo Crossan, Roy Seddon.