Three appointments to Port & Harbour Board

Derry & Strabane Councillors Maurice Devenney, Gerard Diver and Maurice Devenney.
Derry & Strabane Councillors Maurice Devenney, Gerard Diver and Maurice Devenney.

Regional Development Minister Danny Kennedy has confirmed three appointments to the Board of Derry’s Port and Harbour Commissioners.

SDLP Derry City and Strabane District Councillor Gerry Diver will join UUP Councillor Derek Hussey as new members on the board.

The Minister has also re-appointed DUP Councillor Maurice Devenney- who has sat on the board since October 2011- for a second term.

Each of these three Non-Executive Directors will receive remuneration totalling £7,996 per year and are expected to sit for the next four years, which would mean an income just shy of £32,000 each over that period.

They will join four other Non-Executive Directors on the board, along with the Chairman and Chief Executive.

The councillors were nominated by their colleagues at Derry City and Strabane District Council and appointed following a selection process.

The appointments have already become effective and will last for as long as the appointee remains on the Council, up to a maximum of four years.

Mr Kennedy said: “I congratulate Councillor Devenney, Councillor Diver and Alderman Hussey on their appointment to the Board. I am confident that their experience and knowledge of local issues will add significant value to the work of the Port and facilitate the continued efficient and effective development of the port’s business in the years ahead.”

The Harbour Commissioners Board is responsible for operating, maintaining and improving Derry’s Port.

Their duties include preserving, improving and managing Derry’s Port and Harbour.

The Commissioners also have the powers to construct and maintain specific works, to levy dues, deal with abandoned vessels and to make bylaws.

The three councillors are joined by four other Non-Executive directors, a Chair, and Chief Executive and seven Non-Executive Directors.