Derry schools plan digital hub

A number of Derry schools have applied to the Department of Education for permission to share facilities across the religious divide.

The proposed project in Derry centres on a digital hub involving seven local schools.

The initiative is part of the Shared Education Campuses Programme which was launched in January 2014.

The ‘Digital Derry’ plan includes St Mary’s College, Foyle College, Lisneal College, St Cecilia’s College, St Columb’s College, St Joseph’s Boys’ School and Ardnashee School and College.

Welcoming the interest shown in the programme, Education Minister John O’Dowd said: “Shared education has the potential to deliver real educational benefits, to ensure best use of resources and to further community cohesion.

“This programme provides schools with the opportunity to build on existing sharing arrangements and access funding to help improve or provide shared facilities. I thank everyone involved in submitting their applications.”

He added: “The proposals will undergo feasibility studies and economic appraisals with funding subject to agreement on access to required capital funding.”

Minister O’Dowd said he hoped to announce the successful projects in June.