Hospice Hope For “Knockout” Event

A great night’s entertainment is guaranteed tomorrow night (Sat.) in Derry’s Millennium Forum as 24 local individuals will go head-to-head in a Gala “Fight Night” in aid of the local Foyle Hospice.

The weeks of training are now complete and tomorrow night will see the fruition of this hard work in the gym when the local pugilists step into the ring in front of a packed Millennium Forum.

The amateur fighters hail from a wide range of backgrounds from fitness instructors to school teachers, from bookmakers clerks to car salesmen, but they all have one thing in common - they will display their undoubted courage and bravery to step into the ring in support of this extremely worthwhile local charity.

The build-up to the night was somewhat blotted on Wednesday of this week as the top of the bill competitors Martin ‘Mad Dog’ Mullan and ‘Marvellous’ Martin Dunne had to be separated by security staff as they squared up to each other following a promotional event at a local radio station.

And while no shortage of words were exchanged between the pair and blows were ‘apparently’ thrown - but, thankfully, none landed.

The weigh-in for the main event takes place at the Foyle Hospice Stand inside the Foyleside Shopping Centre this afternoon at 5.00 p.m. and both fighters will be accompanied to the weigh-in with their respective backroom staff and security teams.

Tickets are available on the night at the Forum but they can also be purchased at a strictly discounted price from the boxers themselves or, indeed, at the Foyle Hospice Stand in Foyleside today or tomorrow before 3.00 p.m.

Tomorrow night’s

Full Bill

The full bill for tomorrow night’s promotion is as follows - 1. Eddie ‘Masher’ McDonagh v Shaun ‘Rambo’ McGeady.

2. Rachael ‘Mighty’ Melaugh v Clare ‘Fast Hands’ Harkin.

3. Rudi ‘Rooney’ McCartney v Blaine ‘The Blaster’ Sherrin.

4. Chris ‘Cracker’ Graham v ‘Devastating’ Dermot Brown.

5. Paddy ‘Power Packed’ Quigley v Martin ‘Basher’ Beattie.

6. Gearoid ‘Handsome’ Harley v Morgan ‘Swinger’ Sweeney.

7. Ciaran ‘Scruff’ Stevenson v Mark ‘Crusher’ Conway.

8. Ciara ‘Mauler’ Lynch v Niamh ‘Fearsome’ Fean.

9. Aaron ‘Whippersnapper’ Whoriskey v Michael ‘Hotshot’ Harkin.

10. Alec ‘Galeforce’ Given v Conleth ‘Safe Hands’ McCrudden.

11. ‘Marvellous’ Martin Dunne v Martin ‘Mad Dog’ Mullan.