Hybris to launch debut album

editorial image

Derry metal band Hybris take to the Nerve Centre stage on Saturday, January 29, for the launch of their long-awaited debut album ‘Uprise’.

Hybris consists of Darryn McCartney (vocals), D Mullan (guitars, vocals), Brian Smyth (bass) and Niall ‘Rooftop’ O’Doherty (guitars). The band formed in 2009 and in that time have amassed a legion of loyal fans.

Over the past two years, Hybris have taken part in some fantastic competitions, cementing their reputation as a band to be reckoned with.

They were awarded first prize in six different Battle of the Band competitions throughout the North West, including Derry’s own Feile Battle of the Bands and Tennants Battle of the Bands as well as the Red Sails Festival and Masons Battle of the Bands.

As well as securing a coveted support slot for The Coronas at the Gasyard Feile and playing an unbelievable set at last year’s Rockers Reunion at the Nerve Centre, Hybris continue to amaze fans with various headlining slots at the Nerve Centre’s ever-popular All Ages events.

Re-investing all the money won in various competitions, as well as payment from regular gigs, the band secured the support of acclaimed local producer and mixer Mik O’Connell and recorded their new album ‘Uprise’ with Mik at Creggan’s Blast Furnace Studio.

‘Uprise’ will be launched on Saturday, January 29, at the Nerve Centre and support will be provided by Sandstone and The Reverb.

Tickets for the album launch cost £5 (+ booking fee) and are available now from the Nerve Centre. The new album will be on sale at the launch - at a special discount price of £5.