North West ‘super council’ appoints chief executive

John Kelpie
John Kelpie

The Statutory Transition Committee for the Derry City and Strabane District Council appointed John Kelpie today as the Chief Executive for the new Derry City and Strabane District Council that will be formed on 1 April 2015.

John Kelpie is currently a Strategic Director with Derry City Council.

The Chairman of the Statutory Transition Committee, Councillor Kieran McGuire congratulated Mr Kelpie on his appointment. “I am delighted to announce that the Statutory Transition Committee (STC) has appointed John Kelpie to this hugely important role. Throughout this demanding recruitment and selection process John clearly demonstrated he has the key competencies required for this challenging role. We sought someone with a proven ability to focus on the future, demonstrate leadership, promote and facilitate change, deliver excellence, serve the community and effectively work with partners.

“The STC is delighted that John has accepted our offer and we look forward to working with him in creating a new Council for the citizens of this strategically significant region.”

Section 17 of The Local Government (Statutory Transition Committees) Regulations (Northern Ireland) 2013 state that a Statutory Transition Committee shall appoint a Clerk of the new Council for its district. STCs also have a key responsibility of driving convergence between merging councils and commencing preparatory work for the new successor councils.”

Thanking the Chief Executive of Strabane District Council and the Town Clerk and Chief Executive of Derry City Council the Chairman added “The STC is also very grateful to both the existing Chief Executive’s within the existing Councils for the leadership that they have demonstrated in the transition and reform programme to date.”

“We now embark on a new era of local government leadership with the creation of a new Council that will be stronger and have the powers and functions to serve our citizens in a more effective way.”

The elections for the new Council will take place on 22 May 2014.