Pioneer Council AGM

The AGM of the Derry Diocesan Pioneer Council was held recently in the Pastoral Centre, Ardmore, Derry.

The Vice-Chairman, Joe Brennan, Maghera, welcomed everyone to the meeting. the opening prayers were led by the Spiritual Director, Fr. John Downey, CC Ballinscreen.

The election of officers resulted as follows: Chairman, Joe Brennan, Maghera; Vice-chairman, Shane Hughes, Bellaghy; Secretary, Mary Brown, Cranagh, Plumbridge; Assistant Secretary, Mary Mawhinney, Bellaghy; Treasurer, Andrew Doherty, Three Patrons; Assistant Treasurer, Michael Livingstone, Killyclogher; PRO, Andrew Doherty; Child Protection Officer, Mary Deehan, Three Patrons; Delegate to Central Council, Shane Hughes; Delegates to Provincial Council, Joe Brennan and Michael Livingstone; and Youth Officer, Michael Livingstone.

The next meeting was arranged for Tuesday 19th March, 2013, starting at 8pm.

The Annual Diocesan Council Mass will be celebrated, in St. Mary’s, Ardmore, by Fr. John Downey on Tuesday, 21st May, 2013 at 7.30pm, and all council members of Parish Pioneer Centres and Regional Councils throughout the Diocese are invited to attend. Refreshments will be served afterwards in the pastoral Centre.

Further Diocesan Council meetings will take place in Ardmore this year on Tuesday, 17th September, 2013 and Tuesday, 19th November, 2013. The AGM is scheduled for Tuesday 21st January, 2014.

Fr. Downey expressed his thanks to the previous year’s officers for their hard work and wished all the very best for the future. In return, thanks and appreciation for all his help and support were expressed to Fr. Downey.