2016 election: Sinn Fein or SDLP could end up dominating Foyle

A lot of attention is being paid to the contest between the SDLP and Sinn Fein '“ made all the more interesting with Martin McGuinness' decision to switch from Mid-Ulster to his home town.

Wednesday, 4th May 2016, 8:48 am
Updated Wednesday, 4th May 2016, 1:39 pm
Londonderry's Guildhall in the Foyle constituency

The deputy First Minister says this move was prompted by his belief that “Sinn Féin can emerge in the future as the largest political party in the North”.

Sinn Fein remains hopeful that, with Mr McGuinness’ name on the election ticket, they can increase their total in Foyle from two MLAs to three.

Colum Eastwood – who is leading his party into an election for the first time – believes the SDLP can again lead the tally in his Foyle constituency with three seats.

He says he is not daunted by Martin McGuinness’ move and insists his party’s record of delivering for Londonderry will reap dividends.

In the unionist race, the DUP’s Gary Middleton, Julia Kee of the UUP, and Maurice Devenney, who is recently resigned from the DUP, are all chasing what is likely to be a single seat.

Journalist and campaigner Eamonn McCann - who first ran for election in the 1960s - is standing under the People Before Profit banner.

Other candidates with significant profiles are Dr Ann McCloskey, a GP based in Shantallow, and benefits advice worker, Kathleen Bradley.


• Kathleen Bradley (Ind.)

• Maurice Devenney (Ind.)

• Gerard Diver (SDLP)

• Alan Dunlop (Cons.)

• Mark H Durkan (SDLP)

• Colum Eastwood (SDLP)

• Mary Hassan (Green)

• Julia Kee (UUP)

• John Lindsay (Cannabis is Safer than Alcohol)

• Eamonn McCann (People Before Profit Alliance)

• Raymond McCartney (SF)

• Chris McCaw (Alliance)

• Anne McCloskey (Ind.)

• Martin McGuinness (SF)

• Maeve McLaughlin (SF)

• Gary Middleton (DUP)


William Hay (DUP) 7,154 (18.4%)

Martina Anderson (SF) 6,950 (17.9%)

Mark H Durkan (SDLP) 4,970 (12.8%)

Raymond McCartney (SF) 3,638 (9.4%)

Pat Ramsey (SDLP) 3,138 (8.1%)

Eamonn McCann (People Before Profit Alliance) 3,120 (8%)

Colum Eastwood (SDLP) 2,967 (7.6%)

Pol Callaghan (SDLP) 2,624 (6.8%)

Paul Fleming (SF) 2,612 (6.7%)

Paul McFadden (Ind.) 1,280 (3.3%)

Keith McGrellis (Alliance) 334 (0.9%)

Terry Doherty (Ind.) 60 (0.2%)