The cost of running Limavady Colrs - £202k for a year

Limavady borough’s councillors’ expenditure amounted to £202,370 for the year 2011/12, figures have revealed.

The basic allowance for councillors was set at £142,500.

Council revealed the figures at Tuesday’s monthly meeting, detailing amounts for each of the current 15 councillors. Figures are also documented for six former councillors who either didn’t run in last year’s election or failed to secure a seat.

The figures include councillors’ basic allowance, and breaks down the remainder for mileage, special responsibility allowances, courses and conferences and attendance at the now-defunct District Policing Partnership.

Topping the list was SDLP Colr. Michael Coyle, whose expenses were listed at £19,409.

Sinn Féin’s Dermot Nicholl’s expenses were second highest at £15,075 while Ulster Unionist Edwin Stevenson’s expenses were third highest at £14,618.

Former Limavady Mayor, Sean McGlinchey submitted expenses of £13,547 while former deputy mayor had expenses of £10,404.

DUP Colr. James McCorkell expenses were the lowest of the current 15 councillors at £8,947.

The six former councillors listed are Cathal O’hOisin, Marion Donaghy, Paddy Butcher and John Felix McElhinney of Sinn Féin; Michael Carten of the SDLP, and Leslie Cubitt of the UUP. The four Sinn Féin councillors did not run in the last local government elections, while Michael Carten retired in his outgoing year as mayor. Leslie Cubitt did run, but failed to win a seat.

Of those six former councillors Paddy Butcher is listed as having the highest amount at £1,849.

The allowances are detailed on Limavady Borough Council’s website, which also shows expenses for each year as far back to 2005. For the year 2005/06 expenses for councillors amounted to £130,358.77. See all councillors’ allowances at