Scoil Iosagain claim inaugural Philip Diggin Memorial Cup

  Last Tuesday afternoon Primary school teams including Tooban, Muff, Bridgend, Scoil Iosagain (1) Buncrana, Illies, Cockhill & Scoil Iosagain (2) competed for the inaugural Philip Diggin Memorial Cup 5-a-side blitz Tournament held Buncrana Youth Club.

The tournament was organised by Crana College and following some very close games the semi-final saw both Scoil Iosagain teams paired against each other with the other semi-final Tooban against Muff.

In the first semi neither team could score in normal or extra time with the outcome decided on a penalty shoot-out with Scoil Iosagain (2) emerging as victors 2-1.

The second semi-final was also a very close affair with Tooban getting the only goal to set up a thrilling final against the Buncrana outfit.

With Tooban already having beaten Scoil Iosagain in the group stages they went into the final as slight favourites but a whirlwind start by Scoil Iosagain saw them quickly race into a three goal lead with goals coming from Pat Loughrey (2) and Bart Wesowloski to ensure that they would be crowned first winners of the Philip Diggin Memorial Cup.

The presentation of the Cup was made by both Liam Galbraith, principal of Crana College and Shane McArt Head of PE with both of them speaking highly of the contribution Philip Diggin made not only to education but also sport in the community.

Mr McArt thanked Buncrana Youth Club for hosting the event and also thanked the teachers, coaches and teams for making the tournament a resounding success.