VIDEO - Watch the Ebrinton primary school choir

The Ebrington P.S. choir.
The Ebrington P.S. choir.

A Derry school will be one of twelve who will compete in the BBC Radio Ulster School Choir Of The Year on Sunday at 2 p.m..

Presented by John Toal and Kerry McLean, the final will be broadcast live from the Ulster Hall, Belfast.

The judging panel will be made up of series regulars Dominic Peckham, Artistic Director with the Ulster Youth Choir; Ciaran Scullion, Head of Music, Arts Council for Northern Ireland; Richard Yarr, Senior Producer Classical Music, BBC Radio Ulster and joining the panel for the live final is Yvie Burnett, a Mezzo Soprano who is also well known for her work as vocal coach with ‘The Voice’.

Each choir will be invited to perform two songs after which the judges will decide which two choirs from the junior and senior categories will go head-to-head as they battle it out to pick up the two titles.

The choirs taking part in the final are: Junior Category – Ballyholme Primary School, Bangor; St Colman’s Primary School, Saval; Riverdale Primary School, Lisburn; Ebrington Primary School, Londonderry; Pond Park Primary School, Lisburn and St Conor’s Primary School, Omagh.

In the senior category competing in the final will be: St Colman’s College, Newry; Sullivan Upper School, Holywood; Grosvenor Grammar School, Belfast; Coleraine High School; Ballyclare High School and Bloomfield Collegiate School, Belfast.

The three-hour live radio programme will also include a performance from Soprano Rebekah Coffey and a duet with Sinead O’Kelly and Dawn Burns, both winners of the Northern Ireland Young Musicians’ Platform Awards

You can watch a performance of the Ebrington P.S. choir here