Vote for Cayla '˜Write Here, Write Now'

The shortlist for the '˜Write Here, Write Now' competition, which is part of the Centenary Programme, Ireland 2016, has been announced and Derry will be represented by St. Mary's College student, Cayla O'Kane.

Wednesday, 4th May 2016, 4:04 pm
Updated Wednesday, 4th May 2016, 6:07 pm
Cayla O'Kane.

Cayla has been shortlisted in the Second-Level category of the competition which is run by Hot Press magazine, in association with the Dublin: ‘Two Cities One Book Festival’ and the Ireland 2016 Office.

Hot Press has nurtured some of Ireland’s finest creative talent in music, literature, writing and journalism.

Now, as part of a celebration of the remarkable novel, ‘Fallen’ by Lia Mills, Hot Press, in association with the Two Cities, One Book Festival, has uncovered the very best new, student writing talent in the country.

The judging panel consists of award-winning Irish writers Glenn Patterson, Joe O’Connor and Christine Dwyer Hickey, as well as Hot Press Deputy Editor Stuart Clark and Editor, Niall Stokes and, of course, Lia Mills, author of Fallen.

The prizes for the overall winners include an internship at Hot Press, a magazine famed for nurturing young talent.

Four overall winners will each win an internship in Hot Press during the Spring or Summer of 2016, along with a E250 cash prize. They’ll have their winning entry published in a special issue of the magazine and will also receive a beautifully-crafted personal journal from Paperblanks, perfect for recording thoughts, ideas or stories!


The overall winners will be decided after further detailed deliberation from the judging panel.

However, the public can now also get involved by telling Hot Press which entries really caught their eye!

Go to from today, Tuesday, May 3rd and press the ‘TELL US YOU LIKE THIS’ button, to put Cayla in the running for the special Write Here Write Now Readers’ Award.

From today onwards, all the shortlisted entries can be read at, where you can show your support for your county in The Readers’ Award.