DERRY SHC: Stunning finish defeats Lavey and sends Swatragh into final

Swatragh's Michael Warnock was on target against Lavey at the weekend.
Swatragh's Michael Warnock was on target against Lavey at the weekend.

Swatragh 0-17, Lavey 2-8

In a frenetic finish at Owenbeg on Sunday, Swatragh stage a stunning last five minutes to outscore Lavey by 0-4 to 0-1 and claim a place in the final against reigning champions and ‘next door’ neighbours, Slaughtneil.

Twice in the opening quarter Swatragh had opened up the Davitt’s defence to take 2-2 to 0-3 lead, Paddy Henry netting in the 9th minute and Ryan Farren doing likewise four minutes later to put five points between the sides.

Michael Kirkpatrick, who finished with 0-11, kept Swatragh in touch in the first half, his four points contributing to a 2-2 to 0-7 interval deficit.

However Lavey shot three bad wides in the last two minutes and those would prove crucial. Three Kirkpatrick frees on the restart to one from Sam Dodds put Swatragh in the lead, the latter the squaring the game at 2-4 to 0-10.

A flare up in the Swatragh goalmouth saw Swatragh’s Conor Quinn and Lavey’s Eamon McGill red carded in the middle of a spell that brought points from Michael Warnock and Sean F. Quinn.

Lavey looked to be in the ascendancy when Dodds pointed a free and Henry levelled at 2-7 to 0-13 with five minutes remaining but Swatragh finished the stronger, energised by the introduction of Mickey Conway, and rattled over the points that won the game.

Swatragh scorers: Michael Kirkpatrick 0-11 (8f), Sean F Quinn 0-2, Michael Warnock, Tommy McCloy and Ruairi Convery 0-1 each.

Lavey scorers: Sam Dodds 0-6 (0-4f), Paddy Henry 1-1, Ryan Farren 1-1 and Eamon McGill 0-1 each.