HURLING: One change as Derry hurlers travel to Carlow

Paul Cleary replaces the unavailable Alan Grant as Derry travel to Carlow this weekend.
Paul Cleary replaces the unavailable Alan Grant as Derry travel to Carlow this weekend.

Allianz Hurling League Division 2A:

Carlow v Derry (Sunday, Cullen Park, 2pm)

aul Cleary replaces Na Magha forward Alan Grant as Derry hurlers face a tricky trip to Dr. Cullen Park, Carlow on Sunday still in search of their first league points of 2016.

Breandan Quigley is still working his way back to fitness after injuring his back in the league opener against Antrim so Cleary’s inclusion is Tom McLean’s only change from the side that lost out to Westmeath. Despite those successive defeats, the Oak Leaf manager is happy with how things are progressing.

“Carlow is a big game for us but in this league they are all big games,” explained McLean, “It is disappointing to have lost two games but the mood among the players is good and once we get that first win I think things will settle down.”

Carlow will still be reeling from their 5-16 to 1-11 reversal against London but with the division’s top two teams, Antrim and Westmeath, meeting in Cusack Park this weekend, they will see this as a chance to get their promotion bid back on track.

“Carlow will be a tough challenge, we are fully aware of that,” added McLean, “But the players have been working hard and have given 100% commitment and I’m very happy with how things have gone.

“Yes, the opening couple of fixtures we’re very difficult game but that is just the way the fixtures fell. They could easily have worked out different and maybe we get a couple of early wins. We will go there and give it our best.”

Derry have impresses in stages of both league games so far this season and the challenge for McLean and his players must be to translate those encouraging periods of play into 70 minutes hurling.

The Derry senior hurling team to play Carlow on Sunday at Cullen Park (2pm) is as follows:

1. Darrell McDermott (Banagher)

2. Darragh McCloskey (Banagher)

3. Seán McCullagh (Banagher)(Capt)

4. Eugene McGuckin (Swatragh)

5. Conor McSorley (Ballinascreen)

6. Paddy Kelly (Kevin Lynch’s)

7. Meehaul McGrath (Slaughtneil)

8. Oisín McCloskey (Banagher)

9. Tiarnán McCloskey (Banagher)

10. Jonathan O’Dwyer (Banagher)

11. Mark McGuigan (Slaughtneil)

12. Gareth O’Kane (Slaughtneil)

13. Shane Farren (Banagher)

14. Ruairi Convery (Swatragh)

15. Paul Cleary (Ballinascreen)


16. Conor Owens (Kevin Lynch’s)

17. Gabriel Farren (Banagher)

18. Anton Rafferty (Eoghan Rua)

19. Breandán Quigley (Na Magha)

20. Dermot O’Neill (Lavey)

21. Brendan Laverty (Lavey)

22. Johnny McCullagh (Ballinascreen)

23. Mickey Conway (Swatragh)

24. Niall Farren (Banagher)

25. Marty Mulgrew (Ballinascreen)

26. Seán Francis Quinn (Swatragh)