Local GAA round up - Slaughtmanus suffer first defeat of season

editorial image

We go around the grounds to bring you a round up of the latest games

Swatragh 1-14

Ballerin 1-7

It took the introduction of county minor star, Conor McAtamney, to give Swatragh a lift as they struggled in the first half when backed by the almost gale force wind. McAtamney came off the bench eight minutes from the interval with his team’s lead only 0-7 to 1-2 before hitting three points.

A half time lead of 0-9 to 1-3 looked far from secure given the wind but Ballerin showed their vulnerability in the early stages of the second half when the hosts hit a quick 1-2. In the end a seven point winning margin was flattering for Swatragh who were under pressure for long periods.

Swatragh scorers: Michael Kirkpatrick 1-1, Eugene O’Kane 0-3 (2f), Conor McAtamney 0-3, Sean McNicholl 0-2, Ruairi Convery 0-1f, James Kearney 0-1f, Hugh Martin Turner, Michael Friel, Johnny McKeefrey 0-1 each.

Ballerin scorers: Cathal Faulkner 1-5, 0-2frees, Paul Ferris 0-1free and Mark Ferris 0-1.

Moneymore 1-12

Drumsurn 1-8

Moneymore scored their first win of the season when they surprised a lethargic Drumsurn team. A Stephen O’Neill goal gave Moneymore a deserved 1-7 to 0-6 lead but the expected Drumsurn revival in the second half never came to fruition despite a Ciaran Mullan goal. Drumsurn were expected to win but consistency has never been their strong point.

Moneymore scorers: Stephen O’Neill 1-3, Paudie O’Neill 0-3, Gerard Diamond and Niall Hegarty 0-2 each, Rory Young and Jack Barton 0-1 each.

There were two Ciaran Mullans on the Drumsurn score sheet, former Derry player Cairan got 1-3 and newcomer Cairan got 0-2. Christopher Harbinson 0-2 and Michael Coll 0-1 were the other scorers.

Ogra Colmcille 2-7

Claudy 2-10

Claudy are emerging the surprise packets of the division as they continued their good run with an impressive away win. They shipped two goals in the opening 90 seconds from Ryan Taylor and Mark Collins but gradually got into their stride and a goal from Aaron Kerrigan put them 1-9 to 2-2 in front at half time but they had the breeze to face in the second half.

Ogra never got into their stride and a second Claudy goal from Paul White gave them the cushion to hold on for victory and a place among the league leaders.

Claudy scorers: Aaron Kerrigan 1-4, Paul White 1-2, Shane McGahon, Paddy Hargan, Pual McLaughlin and Shea Kerrigan 0-1 each.

Ogra Colmcille scorers: Mark Collins 1-1, Ryan Taylor 1-0, Kieran McDonald 0-3, Dwayne Owens, Thomas Devlin and Stephen Devlin 0-1 each.

Desertmartin 1-8

Foreglen 1-4

Desertmartin staged a notable last quarter comeback coming from five points down to win by four. In less than ideal conditions, the first half was a low scoring affair with Foreglen leading by 0-4 to 0-2, all four of their points coming from frees, two each from Martin Farrell and Cairan McFeely. When teenager Sean Morohan hit a Foreglen goal to open up a five point gap few would have guessed that it would be their last score.

Desertmartin set about cutting into the Foreglen lead and a goal from Donal Murray put them on the winning trail and they ended up surprise, but fully deserving winners.

Desertmartin scorers Donal Murray 1-3, Gregory McGovern 0-2, Ryan Kidd, Enda McGuckin and Paul McGovern 0-1 each.

Foreglen scorers Sean Morohan 1-0, Cairan McFeely and Martin Farrell 0-2 each.

Newbridge 3-13

Doire Trasna 0-7

For much of the first half there was little between the teams but when Danny Mulholland cut loose in the second half, the city visitors had no answer. The ‘Bridge got on top in most sectors after the break and gradually wore down the Trasna resistance. After a couple of ropey performances Newbridge showed what they are capable of in the second half. They led by 0-5 to 0-3 at half time.

Newbridge scorers: Danny Mulholland 1-5, Ciaran Dougan and Cairan Brooks 1-0 each, Nathan Rocks, Sean P McCann, Peter McGroggan and Kevin Sweeney 0-2 each.

Doire Trasna: Michael McNaught 0-2, Kevin McKenna 0-2, Aaron Callaghan, Conor Houston and Colin Murray 0-1 each.

Castledawson 4-9

Lissan 1-4

Castledawson, with a more proactive approach, scored more in this game than they did in the three previous ones. The home team were generally in control while Lissan never looked comfortable in the windy conditions.

Castledawson scorers Adrian Bradley 2-2, Conor Scullion 1-3, Aidan McElhone, 1-1, Martin Heaney 0-2 Declan Lavery 0-1

Limavady 0-1

Faughanvale 2-6

Limavady put in a woeful performance against visitors Faughanvale, scoring just a solitary point courtesy of a first half free by Conor Forrest. Conditions were very difficult for both teams but Faughanvale were much the sharper and more cohesive team and probably should have scored more than 2-6 given the ample possession they enjoyed.

At half time Faughanvale led by 1-2 to 0-1, Shaun Cassidy getting the goal. The expected Limavady second half revival did not materialise and the St. Mary’s ended up the most comfortable of winners.

Faughanvale scorers: Shaun Cassidy 1-1, Odhran McKinney 1-0, Michael Quinn 0-2, Conor O’Hara, Ryan King and Eugene O’Kane 0-1 each.

Limavady scorer: Conor Forrest 0-1

Ballymaguigan 2-9

Slaughtmanus 1-6

Slaughtmanus fell to their first defeat after four straight wins when they lost to a superior Ballymaguigan along the wind swept shores of Lough Neagh. With Andrew McCartney giving the home team a solid platform at midfield, the Ballymaguigan side always looked winners. They had more scoring options than the visitors who depended a lot on placed balls for their scores. Ballymaguigan led at the interval by 0-7 to 1-1 but they clinched the game with goals from Gary Burke (45mins) and Pauric Scullion (54mins).

Kevin King had scored the first half Slaughtmanus goal that looked like giving them a good foundation but Ballymaguigan were impressive and fully deserved their six points win.

Ballymaguigan scorers: Gary Burke 1-1, Pauric Scullion 1-2, Paddy Cassidy 0-2, Andrew McCartney, Johnny Cassidy, Kieran McIvor and Cathal Doyle 0-1 each.

Slaughtmanus scorers Ciaran Barr 0-4 f, Kevin King 1-0, Ryan Barr 0-1 (’45) and Shane Connor 0-1.