Derry City crowned League of Ireland champions 1997: In Pictures

On this day 23 years ago, Derry City Football Club won its second League of Ireland Premier Division championship.

Sunday, 19th April 2020, 5:31 pm
Updated Sunday, 19th April 2020, 5:33 pm
League of Ireland Premier Division champions '97.

The Candy Stripes, managed by 1989 treble winner, Felix Healy, secured a 2-0 victory over St Patrick's Athletic at a packed Brandywell Stadium on April 19th 1997.

A first half strike from James Keddy after 15 minutes followed by captain fantastic, Peter Hutton's goal shortly after the interval as he latched onto Liam Coyle's outstanding pass through the middle to ensure the Foylesiders lifted the title for only the second time in the club's history. And 23 years on the club are still hoping to replicate those heroics.

Take a look back down memory lane at these pictures as we reminisce about that fantastic achievement.

Sign up to our daily Derry Journal Today newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Derry City celebrate their 1997 League of Ireland title victory.
Sean Hargan and Gary Beckett celebrate Derry City's second goal against St Pat's at Brandywell.
Derry City captain, Peter Hutton celebrates his goal which sealed the win over St Pat's.
Derry City defender, Sean Hargan pictured with the League trophy at Brandywell 23 years ago.
Peter Hutton lifts the League of Ireland Premier Division title
Captain, Peter Hutton and Liam Coyle are mobbed by Derry City fans after winning the title.
Derry City manager, Felix Healy guided his hometown club to the Premier Division title in April 19th, 1997.
St Pat's Paul Campbell tussles with Derry City defender Sean Hargan at the Brandywell as the Candy Stripes closed in on the title.
Derry City manager, Felix Healy pictured with striker and fellow 1989 treble winner, Liam Coyle after clinching the league title for a second time.
Eddie Gormley and Paul Osam of St. Pat's compete with Gavin Dykes and Paul Hegarty of Derry for the ball as Derry edge towards the league title at Brandywell.
Liam Coyle leads the celebrations in the dressing room after Derry City were crowned league champions for a second time in April 1997.