Derry City 0-2 St. Patrick’s Athletic

Derry City boss Declan Devine. Photo: Russell Pritchard/Presseye
Derry City boss Declan Devine. Photo: Russell Pritchard/Presseye

Derry City lost 2-0 to St. Patrick’s Athletic at the Brandywell on Friday evening.

Liam Buckley’s Saints were worthy winners and Derry’s performance was one of the worst witnessed at the Brandywell for quite some time.

The Dubliners took the lead in the 45th minute when horrific Derry defending allowed Darren Meenan a free header on goal.

Meenan was completely unmarked inside the Derry area when captain Conor Kenna hoisted a ball in from the left. Derry ‘keeper Gerard Doherty was powerless to do anything and the ball nestled in the far corner of the net.

Derry’s chances could be counted on one finger never mind one hand and they were made rue their dismal display when St. Pat’s doubled their lead in the 64th minute.

Sean O’Connor fired a long range effort towards Doherty’s goal. O’Connor’s shot looked as if it would be easily dealt with by Doherty but the Creggan born shot-stopper made an uncharacteristic error and the ball appeared to deflect off his knee and into the net.

It was a game that Derry deserved to lose and there were virtually no positives to be taken from the game.

Friday’s defeat means that Derry remain in sixth place with 12 points from ten games but they are already 12 points adrift of league leaders Sligo Rovers.

Next up for Declan Devine’s Derry is the Setanta Sports Cup final against Crusaders at the Oval on Saturday May 12.

DERRY CITY: (4-4-2) Gerard Doherty; Eddie McCallion (Shane McEleney 54 mins), Dermot McCaffrey, Ryan McBride (Ryan Curran 82 mins), Simon Madden; Ruaidhri Higgins, Barry Molloy, Stephen McLaughlin, Barry McNamee (Brian McGroary 54 mins), David McDaid, Rory Patterson.

Subs not used: Eugene Ferry, Matthew Crossan, Michael Barr, Caoimhin Bonner.

ST. PATRICK’S ATHLETIC: (4-1-4-1) Brendan Clarke; Ger O’Brien, Conor Kenna, Greg Bolger, Christy Fagan (Ian Daly 71 mins); Sean O’Connor (Jake Kelly 82 mins), Ian Berminghan, Mark Rossiter (Darren Meenan 7 mins), Kenny Browne; Chris Forrester, John Russell.

Subs not used: Jake Carroll, Pat Flynn, Barry Murphy, Dean Kelly.

REFEREE: Mr. Tomas Connolly (Dublin).