Nine Derry City players in preliminary Dublin Super Cup panel

Nine Derry City players were last night named in the Airtricity League’s preliminary 35-man panel which will take part in the Dublin Super Cup next month against Celtic, Manchester City and Inter Milan.

The strong City contingent is made up of goalkeeper Ger Doherty, defenders Stewart Greacen, Shane McEleney and Daniel Lafferty, midfielders Gareth McGlynn, Barry Molloy, James McClean and Ruaidhri Higgins, and striker Eamon Zayed.

The number of Brandywell players is undoubtedly a sign of the respect Derry have gained after their re-entry into top flight League of Ireland football with what is a relatively young squad.

The Dublin Super Cup will be played on Saturday July 30th and Sunday July 31st. Airtricity XI team boss Damien Richardson said last night; “I will now use the coming weeks to fine tune my selection before confirming the final squad. I’m confident we’ll be capable of competing with Celtic and Manchester City in this tournament, which I feel has captured the imagination of the Irish sporting public.

“I’ve already spoken to some of the boys and I know how thrilled they are to be taking part in a game that will be broadcast around the world and already I sense a mood of anticipation and determination beginning to build.”

Only Shamrock Rovers have more players in the panel than Derry, with 11. Sligo Rovers players haven’t been included, as the side will be in Europa Cup action.