Drumahoe end season in style with O’Bryan Cup win

Drumahoe failed to win a single game in a poor Premiership campaign but they ended their season in style when lifting the O’Bryan Cup at Wilton Park on Saturday.

It was a comfortable 2-0 win against First Division representatives, Oakleaf Celtic.

The first half of this final was very evenly contested but it was Drumahoe who managed to score first.

Oakleaf Celtic will have been disappointed with the manner of their defending for the opening goal on 20 minutes.

Smyth threaded an excellent ball through to Alan King and he had the simple task of slotting the ball past McColgan in the Oakleaf goal to make it 1-0.

Oakleaf were presented with a golden opportunity to get back on level terms when Sean McKeever was played through on goal but he somehow squandered the chance.

At the start of the second half Oakleaf attempted to push forward in search of an equaliser but their final ball was letting them down when in the Drumahoe final third.

The next goal in this game was always going to be very important and it almost fell to Drumahoe as Smyth dragged his shot wide of the mark when well placed.

Three minutes later, however, Drumahoe netted their second goal of the game.

Stuart Moore latched onto the ball and dragged the ball past a defender before unleashing an unstoppable shot into the bottom corner for an insurance goal for Drumahoe.

All credit to Oakleaf they continued to play good football but the Drumahoe defence stood firm. Drumahoe should have put the contest beyond doubt with five minutes remaining when a shot was spilled by McColgan in the Oakleaf goal.

The ball landed at the feet of Johnny Wray six yards from goal and with the net gaping, he somehow shot wide of the target.

Despite missing that gilt-edged chance it mattered little as Drumahoe went on to collect the 2012/13 O’Bryan Cup.

Having been relegated from the Premier Division this season, Terry Martin’s troops will certainly begin their Championship campaign with confidence following this morale-boosting win.

And it will be back to the drawing board for Donal O’Neill and Donal Sheehan.