Fair Play to Derry City

DERRY CITY has finished as runners-up to champions, Dundalk in the Fair Play League for the 2016 SSE Airtricity League Premier Division season.

Friday, 18th November 2016, 11:49 am
Updated Monday, 21st November 2016, 1:27 pm
Derry City manager Kenny Shiels has guided his team to third in the Premier Division and second in the 2016 Fair Play League.

The ‘Lilywhites’ accumulated an impressive 1,094 points over the course of the season with Derry City in second place with 1,079 points and Irish Daily Mail FAI Cup winners, Cork City in third with 1,076 points.

Each team can get a maximum of 50 points per game and the scores are decided on five different categories:

Red and Yellow cards; Respect for opponents; Respect for the referee team; Behaviour of team officials and behaviour of spectators.

In each category, a team can score a maximum of 10 points but various deductions take place throughout the match if the behaviour of the team contravenes the fair play rules, i.e three point deduction for a red card, one point deduction for a yellow card; which is decided by the match delegate.

The Football Association of Ireland have awarded Dundalk €4,000 for winning the Fair Play League and the club could receive a further bonus from UEFA. UEFA awards associations each year on their fair play score in the following three categories: Overall fair play: the association with the highest overall fair play score; Improvement in overall fair play score from one season to the next: the association whose overall fair play score has improved the most since the previous season; Behaviour of spectators: the association with the highest final score for this criterion.

The association ranked highest in each of the three categories is awarded prize money to donate to the fair play score winners.

If the FAI wins one of the three categories, Dundalk will receive prize money to use for fair play or respect-themed projects around the club or in the community. UEFA will announce the winners of the categories at the end of the 2016/17 season.