FOYLE CUP FINALS: Watch as Celtic retain Foyle Cup U14 trophy after victory over Derry Colts

Celtic 1, Derry Colts

Saturday, 23rd July 2016, 12:54 pm
Updated Thursday, 25th August 2016, 8:26 pm
Celtic Under-14s celebrate winning the Foyle Cup at Brandywell.

CELTIC’s Under-14 side secured consecutive Foyle Cup titles following a slender win over Derry Colts at Brandywell Stadium.

Adam Montgomery put the Scottish Premier League’s academy side into. an early lead with a neat finish and the Colts just couldn’t find a way back into the contest.

Both sides were cancelling each other out in the early stage but Celtic finally found a way through on 15 minutes.

Celtic Under-14s celebrate winning the Foyle Cup at Brandywell.

The Hoops’ big front man, Michael Sparkes held up the ball and laid it into the path of Montgomery who took a touch before drilling his shot past Stuart Moore.

Colts tried to respond moments later when 18 made a yard of space but with options to his right, he ambitiously decided to go for goal from 25 yards and his shot went high and wide.

The lively Karamoko Dembele picked up a loose ball on the edge of the Derry area and his blistering shot was parried away by Moore on 24 minutes.

Aarron McClafferty tried his luck from distance on the stroke of half-time but his well his shot was gathered cleanly by Celtic keeper, Joshua Bradley-Hurst.

Celtic Under-14s celebrate winning the Foyle Cup at Brandywell.

Dembele was causing problems again at the start of the second half but when he cut back inside the penalty area the ball eventually came to Owen Moffat who sent his shot the wrong side of the near post.

Substitute, Max McGregor almost added a second for Celtic with two minutes to go after he drove towards goal but his shot bounced back off the post.

It mattered little as the Hoops held on to lift the U14 title.

Derry Colts - Stuart Moore; Anton Murtagh, Shea Frazer, Ryan Kennedy, Shane Monaghan; Tiarnan McGuinness; Ryan McCaul, Arron McClafferty, Evan McLaughlin,Michael Harris; Corin Gallagher; Subs - Ryan McIntyre, Aaron O’Donnell, Caoimhin Porter, Caoimhin Quigg.

Celtic - Joshua Bradley-Hurst; Samuel Denham (Max McGregor), Christopher McQueen, Finn McRobb, Ewan Otoo (Finn McRobb); Dylan Forrest, Owen Moffat, Scott Cusick, Michael Sparkes, Adam Montgomery, Aaron Hickey; Subs - Azeem Abdulai, David McNair, Michael McFarlane, Dean Quinn, Max McGregor.