Top teams facing pivotal fixtures

THIS WEEKEND could prove to be a pivotal one in deciding the destination of both the Premier Division and Championship title races with the top team facing season-defining fixtures.

Before previewing tomorrow’s action though, a number of the sides with aspirations of silverware were in action during the week. On Tuesday night in the top flight, Clifton Villa kept their title hopes alive as they defeated Oxford United 4-1 thanks to a James Boyd hat-trick, a result that confirms Oxford’s relegation back to the Championship. In the Championship, Northside Albion were defeated 2-0 by Red Star. On Wednesday night, Premier league leaders Phoenix Swifts extended their lead as they overcame Clooney 5-3 while in the Championship Drumahoe saw off Foyle Athletic 2-1 and Hatmore Harps were beaten 3-0 by Rocking Chair.

Tomorrow’s Premier Division fixtures sees Brandywell Celtic take on Clifton Villa, Phoenix Swifts play Abercorn and Westbank United face Newton Heath at Leafair.

In the Championship, Foyle Harps take on Benbradagh Colts, Northside Albion take on Magee, Red Star face Collegians, Rocking Chair entertain HML, Tamnaherin Celtic host Sion Swifts and St. Columb’s College tackle Drumahoe.


The Committee and members of the SML were saddened to hear of the passing of Sally McCallion over the weekend. Sally was the mother of Billy and Stephen McCallion, both Clifton Villa stalwarts and our deepest sympathy is extended to the entire family circle. May she rest in peace.

Forthcoming Fixtures

Tuesday, May 10th: Blue Riband Cup Semi-finals - Clifton Villa v Newton Heath (Lisnagelvin 2); Phoenix Swifts v Brandywell Celtic (Prehen 6).

Wednesday, May 11th May: O’Bryan Cup Preliminary Rounds - (A) Hatmore Harps v Northside Albion (Swilly Stadium); (C) Rosemount v Abercorn (Lisnagelvin 4);

Thursday, May 12th: O’Bryan Cup; (D) Rocking Chair v HML (St. Columb’s 3);

Saturday, May 14th: Premier Division - Brandywell Celtic v Westbank Utd (Prehen 6); Abercorn v Clifton Villa (Lisnagelvin 2); O’Bryan Cup; (B) Clooney v Newton Heath (Lisnagelvin 4); (E) Winners B v Winners D - (Lisnagelvin 2); (F) Sion Swifts v Tamnaherin Celtic (Strabane); (G) Winners A v Oxford United (Templemore Central); (H) Magee University v Du Pont (Magee) (I) Creggan Swifts v Drumahoe (Showgrounds); (J) Benbradagh Colts v Foyle Athletic (Dungiven) (K) Collegians v Top of the Hill Celtic Youth (St. Columb’s 3); (L) Red Star v Winners C (Prehen 1);