Foyle Grand Prix the next instalment in Ulster Roadman Series

Upwards of 100 riders will compete in the next stage of the Ulster Road man Series, when Foyle Cycling Club hosts it's annual Grand Prix on July 17th.

Wednesday, 6th July 2016, 11:41 am
Updated Thursday, 25th August 2016, 6:44 pm
David Watson of North Down Cycling Club winning the 2015 Foyle Grand Prix.

With 2015 race winner David Watson of North Down Cycling Club due to defend his title, the local club is confident that this year’s race will be one of the most competitive in recent years.

Although the Roadman series has been absent from the Ulster cycling calendar for the last few years, it made its return in March with the Tour of Ards.

After further races in Antrim, Angus Fyffe (Omagh CC), Ali MacAuley (Asea) and North Down’s David Hamilton are all competing for the top spot, along with Foyle Cycling Club’s Ronan McLaughlin and Ryan Reilly.

Ronan Gallagher, Foyle CC PRO said: ‘The Killea course has really come into its own over the last three years and is very well liked by the riders. We expect almost 100 cyclists to compete across all disciplines and, weather permitting, it should be a fantastic day of cycling.’

Sign on for riders:

Race Details: Foyle GP, Sunday, July 17th - Competitors can sign on from 9.30am with first race off at 11.30am. Location: Killea, County Donegal (10 minutes’ drive from Brandywell area of Derry City). Standard racing licences required.