GAA Extra - The Elk Senior Football Championship

Ballinderry 0-13

Glenullin 0-09

Ballinderry ended Glenullin’s championship winning streak with a four point victory at Bellaghy, the Shamrocks joining Ballinascreen, Dungiven and Slaughtneil in the top tier for the quarter-final draw, Glenullin in the second tier along with Banagher, Bellaghy and Castledawson.

James Conway and James Bateson grabbed points for Ballinderry inside three minutes but Neill Mullan responded with a fine point in the 4th minute. Eoin Bradley then landed two frees in the 7th and 9th minutes to put Glenullin 0-03 to 0-02 ahead, Colin Devlin levelling with a free after eleven minutes.

Muldoon and Devlin, from a free, put Ballinderry 0-05 to 0-03 in front but Donal Boylan and Eoin Bradley, from a free, tied the scores at 0-05 each before Bradley converted a ‘45’ in the last minute of the half but Devlin pointed.

In the ten minutes immediately after half time Martin Harney (2), James Conway and Brendan Conway put Ballinderry 0-10 to 0-06 in front.

For the remainder of the game the Shamrocks held their lead, Bradley from a free and Harney exchanging points by the 17th minute. A ten minute scoring lull followed by a flurry of points from Brian Mullan, Terry Mullan, Raymond Wilkinson and Muldoon, from a free, keeping Ballinderry in control until the final whistle.

Ballinderry: Mickey Conlon; Declan Bell, Niall Mccusker, Kevin McGuckin; Conor Wilkinson, Conor Nevin, Michael McIver; James Conway, James Conway; Raymond Wilkinson, Brendan Conway, Shane Rocks; James Bateson, Darren Conway, Colin Devlin. (Subs) Martin Harney for Darren Conway; Daniel Bateson for Shane Rocks.

Glenullin: Eoin McNicholl; Eunan O’Kane, Brian Mullan, Barry Mullan; Terry Mullan, John O’Kane, Gerard O’Kane; Neil Mullan, Dominic McIlvar; Donal McNicholl, Donal Boylan; Donal McNicholl, Donal Boylan, James McNicholl; Niall O’Kane, Eoin Bradley, Dermot O’Kane. (Subs) Kevin Bradley for Niall O’Kane; Paddy Bradley for Donal McNicholl; Chris Higgins for Barry Mullan; Basil Rafferty for Dermot O’Kane.

Referee: Aidan McAlynn (Loup).