Aine Claims President’s Prize

Mrs. Kathleen Cuddihy, Lady President, Ballyliffin Golf Club, presents her President's Prize to winner, Aine McElhinney, following last weekend's competition at the Inishowen club.
Mrs. Kathleen Cuddihy, Lady President, Ballyliffin Golf Club, presents her President's Prize to winner, Aine McElhinney, following last weekend's competition at the Inishowen club.

AINE McElhinney struck a blow for the higher handicappers at a breezy Ballyliffin last Saturday when claiming Mrs. Kathleen Cuddihy’s Lady President’s Prize, the 32 handicapper returning the top score of 36 points, two clear of the chasing pack.

Full results were - Mrs. Kathleen Cuddihy’s President’s Prize - 1, Aine McElhinney (32) 36 points; 2, Mary McGonagle (27) 34; gross, Ellen Nelson (11) 21; 3, Geraldine McCarron (14) 33; 4, Molly McCloskey (16) 30; first nine, Lucia Mullen (9) 15; second nine, Bernie McCarron (23) 18; Past President, Rita McCrossan; non-qualifier, Ruth McGartoll (32) 29; gents’ visitor, Mick McIlkenny.

Gents’ competition - 1, break of tie, Des Kemmy (6) 35 points; 2, Liam McLaughlin (12) 35; gross, Cecil Doherty (7) 25; 3, John Friel (11) 33.

Results from the Mary Doherty Memorial and Medal competition, Tuesday, June 12th - 1, Ann McLaughlin (P), 71 nett; 2, Ann Friel, 72; gross, Lucia Mullen, 85; back nine, Molly McCloskey, 34.

City of Derry Ladies

Rita O’Kane (26) and Kate O’Doherty (35) claimed the top prize in the Nellie Garrett Cup competition staged at City of Derry on Tuesday last, their score of 35 points giving them victory over runners-up Ciara Quigg (16) and Vivienne Houston (7) who finished on 32 points.

Next week’s competition will be the Captain’s Prize to the Ladies Branch.

Redcastle Ladies

Last Monday’s competition, the PGA Tankard, was cancelled due to the inclement weather conditions and will be rescheduled for a later date.

However, tomorrow, is Lady Captain’s Day and all ladies are invited to meet at 10.30 a.m. for the usual refreshments with the draw scheduled for 11.00 a.m. sharp and the Lady Captain (Cora) extends best wishes to all those taking part in the competition.

Redcastle Ladies Meile Team were narrowly defeated by the Ladies from Ballyliffin who are wished well in the next round.

The competition for Monday, June 25th, is the Marie Curie Qualifier Pairs (fourball better ball). Please arrange times and markers.

Faughan Valley Ladies

Results from Faughan Valley Ladies Branch, June 13th - 18 holes stableford - 1, break of tie, Celine McIvor (36) 34 points; 2, Ann McGoldrick (28) 34; 3, Nadine Lynch (28) 34.

Foyle Ladies

Results from Thursday, June 14th - the Mary Peters Trust Qualifier - 1, Alison Elkin (12) 38 points; 2, break of tie, Agnes McLaughlin (19) 37; 3, Joan Hutchman (33) 37.

Congratulations to Margaret Killen who, whilst competing in the Mary Peters Trust Qualifier, recorded an “ace” at the par three 8th hole much to the delight of her playing partners Joan Hutchman and Ann McWilliams.

Recent 20’s competition winner, No. 216 – Sarah Hamilton (24) 26 points.

Dunfanaghy Ladies

Dunfanaghy President, Mr. Derek Curtis, staged his competition for the Ladies Branch on a day which proved very difficult to score due to the wet and windy conditions.

The Ladies Branch extends good luck to Derek for his President’s Day tomorrow (Saturday). Full results were - President’s Prize to Ladies - 1, Heather Hamilton (20) 36 points; 2, Margaret Witherow (15) 32; gross, Kerry Eakin (7) 18; 3, Jill McCorkell (25) 31; front nine, break of tie, Sandra McGinley (24) 15; back nine, Clodagh McStravick (33) 19.

The C.S.S. was 72.

Greencastle Ladies

Last Thursday’s ladies competition at Greencastle was a Singles Stroke and the winning card was returned by Joy Quigg (25) who recorded a nett 70 giving her a three shot cushion over the field.

A break of tie was called upon to decide second and third spots with two players tying on 73. Margaret Dolan (31) got the better of Veronica Harkin (20) after the calculations.

Strabane Ladies

Strabane Ladies Branch played for the club Captain’s Prize to the Ladies on Tuesday of last week with Jennifer Rouse taking first place with 69 nett while the category prizes were claimed by Heather Mitchell and Abbie Maxwell.

In the Novice Section the winner of the Captain’s Prize to the Ladies was Orla Friel with Pauline McBride the runner- up.

Other recent novice results were - Week One - Karen Carlin; Week Two - Pauline McBride; Week Three - Genevieve O’Neill; Week 4 - Maura Shannon; Week 5 - Carmel McElwee; Week 6 - Maura Shannon.

The winner of the recent Junior Girls competition was Shannon Rice with Sarah Bradley the runner-up.

There was much interest in Friday’s Junior and Adult Foursomes event which was kindly sponsored by Sean Sweeney. The winners were the father and daughter combination of John and Abbie Maxwell, with Paul and Zara McLaughlin the runners-up and Oliver McNally and his grand-daughter, Emer McNally, in third place.