Brian Dominates Greencastle ‘Major’


MR. Seamus Doherty’s President’s Day attracted an entry of 170 members to Greencastle on Sunday last, the competition having been rescheduled after the rain forced a postponement the previous weekend.

And the top score on the day was returned by Brian Doherty (11) whose excellent 45 points saw him claim his first “major” at the Inishowen club.

In fact, Brian was the last entry into the competition and his card included three birdies.

In second spot was James McCauley (8) who had been the clubhouse leader for a lengthy period. A one under par back nine saw him finish on a two over par total of 42 points.

In third place was the Captain-Elect, Leo McCauley (21), with 41 points. His back nine score gave him the break of tie victory over Gerry McQuillan (11) who won the Past President’s Prize.

The winner of the gross was Willie Havlin who achieved a personnel milestone as a result with his 39 points. His handicap has now been reduced to 4.2 which makes him the lowest male golfer in the club.

Eamonn Coyle followed up his victory during Open Week by winning the front nine prize with 23 points and Liam Skelly was the winner of the back nine prize with 22 points.

Meanwhile, last Saturday’s winner of the Paul Houston Ladies and Gents Open was Hugh Foy (14). A regular competitor at the club, Hugh’s return of 43 points took him one point clear of David Houston (11). A break of tie was called upon for third place and it went to Willie Havlin (5), his 39 point score including three birdies in four holes on the back nine.

Tommy McBride won the gross with 34 points and the nines were won by Paul McCole (21 pts.) and Andrew Ward (23 pts).

In the ladies section, Kate Lowe (17) marked her return from injury with victory with 31 points. The runner-up was Margaret Dolan (31) on 27 points.

The ‘Player of the Year’ chase has been updated after President’s Day and John McLaughlin has moved to the top of the table on 54 points.

In second place was Sean McQuillan on 42 points while Willie Havlin finished in third with 40 points.

With each of the next three weekends including a counting event, things might be much clearer at the end of July.

Tomorrow’s competition is an Open Teams of Four event and times can be reserved by contacting the club.

Sundays competition is the McCauley Cup, sponsored by McCauley Properties.

Oliver Shoots Buncrana

Course Record

Oliver Doherty recorded a new course record at Buncrana on Sunday last when winning Mrs. Marian Simpson’s Lady Captain’s Prize to the gents’ branch.

With the competition enjoying a tremendous turnout, Oliver produced the goods when negotiating the course in 63 shots, a three under par effort.

Playing off 7, his score translated to a fantastic 46 points and a two points cushion over his nearest rival.

Full results were - Mrs. Marian Simpson’s Captain’s Prize to the Gents’ Branch - 1, Oliver Doherty (7) 46 points; 2, Raymond Gallagher (16) 44; gross, Hugh Doherty (8) 70; 3, break of tie, P. J. Hallinan (19) 43; best day, Michael Healy (14) 43; back nine, Ciaran McLaughlin (12) 23.

This weekend’s competition - to be played from Satuday, June 30th to Monday, July 2nd - is an Open Stableford which will be sponsored by Liam McLaughlin Bookmakers, Market Square, Buncrana. This competition will extend to Monday, July 2nd in order to give members who may be attending the Irish Open at Portrush an opportunity to play for these prizes and, of course, “golfer of the year” points.

There is a timesheet in operation and for bookings ring: 074-93-62279.

The next Committee meeting will take place on Wednesday, July 4th at 7:00 p.m. sharp and all Committee members should be in attendance.

The “Find the Joker” fund- raising effort continues with the prize fund now at E1,040. Lines cost E2.

Popular Ernie wins

at Redcastle

Popular Redcastle member, Ernie Thompson, won last weekend’s Redcastle Shield competition with a superb score of 66 nett.

John Murray came a close second with 67 with Danny McCartney close on John’s heels in third having survived a break of tie on 68.

Kris McClelland won the gross prize with 79 whlie David McQuaid claimed the front nine with 33 and Willie Watson the back nine with 32.