Canny Ciaran to cute for Conor in Greencastle Open Stableford tie

The prizewinners following the recent Total Golf Open Stableford at Redcastle. Pictured from left are Terry Green, John Murray (winner) Paul Murray, Club President Desy Carton and Pat Burns.
The prizewinners following the recent Total Golf Open Stableford at Redcastle. Pictured from left are Terry Green, John Murray (winner) Paul Murray, Club President Desy Carton and Pat Burns.

CIARAN O’Neill continued to enjoy a rich vein of form last weekend at Greencastle, the eight handicapper surviving a break of tie to clinch the club’s Saturday Open Stableford.

The affable manager of the City Hotel in Derry, returned a superb score of 39 points to defeat runner-up, Conor McCourt, on countback, the latter having lost out on the back nine having assembled 23 points on the way out.

Interestingly both the winner and runner-up remain in contention for the club’s matchplay championships Ciaran, in the company of Eddie Rigney, have reached the quarter-final of the Biggar Cup while Conor is in the quarter-final of the Inniskilling Cup.

Full results from last Saturday’s Open Stableford were - 1, break of tie, Ciaran O’Neill (8) 39 points; 2, Conor McCourt (20) 39; 3, Kevin Thompson (15) 37; gross, Jason McLaughlin (5) 30; first nine, K. McLaughlin (20) 21; second nine, John Bell (17) 21.

There was no Ladies competition on Saturday as many of the Greencastle Ladies had gone to support the Senior Foursomes team in the club’s first ever Ulster Final against Lurgan.

With an Irish international in each of their pairings, the Lurgan ladies were always going to be formidable opponents and so it turned out. However, the Greencastle girls acquitted themselves well and were unlucky in the end to be on the wrong end of a 2-1 scoreline.

Hilary McCloy and Pauline Casey lost to Annabel Wilson and Sheena McStay, cousins Gemma McClenaghan and Aoife O’Hare defeated Niamh Ward and Fiona Cummins while Lucia Mullen and Teresa Ross agonisingly lost on the final green to Niamh McSherry and Orla O’Dowd.

Best wishes are extended to the Lurgan girls in their quest for All-Ireland glory.

Meanwhile, the first cards of the day on Sunday were taken out by Charlie Kelly and Willie Havlin and they duly filled the top two spots on the podium with Charlie vanquishing his Biggar Cup partner by two clear points.

The prizewinners were - 1, Charlie Kelly (18) 40 points; 2, Willie Havlin (6) 38; 3, Paddy McGilloway (14) 38; gross Shane McClean (2), Foyle, 32; first nine, Barry McMenamin (19), City of Derry, 20; second nine, Stephen Corbett (15) 20.


Sunday, August 23rd, McLaughlin, McGonigle Confined Stableford - 1, Des Kemmy (6) 40 points; 2, break of tie, Philip Farren (15) 39. Wilson Moore (21) 39; 4, Stephen McGonigle (10) 38; gross, Cecil Doherty (6) 31.

The C.S.S. was 70.

Saturday, August 22nd - Lady Captain’s Prize to gents (Ruth McGartoll) - 1, Michael McLaughlin HB (24) 41 points; 2, Anthony McEleney (16) 38; 3, John Farren (8) 37; gross, Ryan Doherty (4) 37; front nine, Jack Doherty (16) 35; back nine, Liam Cregan (13) 34.

The C.S.S. was 74.

Ladies results - 1, Cathy McGeoghegan, 41 points; 2, Theresa McLaughlin, 37; gross, Margaret Doherty (O) 23; 3, Noeleen Gordon, 37; front nine, Kathleen Cassidy, 20; back nine, Lynda O’Doherty, 20; Past Captain, Sadie Grant (PN) 33; Committee Prize, Gertie Monagle, 32; best 36 handicap, Fiona Fagan, 27; student, Caoimhe Glover, 39; non-qualifer, Bernie Wilson, 24; novice, Susie Finnigan; visiting Lady Captain, Margaret McAteer; Lady visitor, Mary Whooley.

The C.S.S. was 72.

Friday, August 21 - Confined Scramble - 1, J. Farren, D. McKeague, P. Logue and M. Harkin, 24.5 nett; 2, K. Lake, R. Toland, K. Marston, E. Sweeney, 27.2; 3, B. Grant, B. Harkin, D. Rooney, N. Carlin, 27.5.

Forthcoming events and fixtures - tomorrow (Sat.), Open Club Classic on Glashedy Links, members E25 p.p., visitors E40 p.p.

Telephone: 074-93-78100 for timesheet.

Sunday, August 30th Confined Stableford on The Old Links.



Edwin Gallagher claimed the annual Ronnie Ross Open competitoin, staged on Saturday last at Faughan Valley, the competition sponsored by Stephen McKendry.

Full results were - gents - 1, Edwin Gallagher (15) 42 points; 2, Tony Griffiths (20) 41; 3, Thomas Parkhill (19) 41; gross, Graham Curry (7) 72; front nine, John Gilfillan (18) 19; back nine, Andrew Craig (12) 21.

Ladies competition - over 10 holes - 1, Margaret Armstrong, 19 points; 2, Evelyn Smith, 17.

Meanwhile, J. C. Halliday & Sons have sponsored this weekend’s Open Stableford event, the competition to be played over tomorrow and Sunday, August 30th.

For timesheet, please telephone 028-71-860707.

Congratulations to David Forbes who won the 2015 Club Championship after defeating Cecil King in the final at the 16th hole.

The quarter-finals of the Babington & Croasdaile sponsored Singles Championship must be played on or before Sunday, August 30th.

Club Captain, Mr Frank McClintock, reminds all members that the traditional “Captain’s Away Day” will take place on Saturday, September 12th to Dunfanaghy Golf Club. Any member who wishes to take part is asked to list his name on clubhouse notice board as soon as possible in order to finalise numbers and tee-off times.

Finally, the ever popular “Irons” competition will run until September 27th. Competitors can enter as many score cards as they wish each week with the best seven total scores to be counted.