Competition Secretary leads the way in Faye’s Lady Captain’s Day at Foyle

THE pressures of office, as Foyle Golf Club’s popular competitions secretary, do not appear to have had any affect on the golfing ability of Anne Hamilton.

Indeed, the 14 handicapper turned on the style on Friday last to claim Faye McGrotty’s Lady Captain’s Prize.Anne’s superb score of 41 points saw her claim the top honour by just one point, the large field enjoying favourable weather and a course in pristine condition.

The Lady Captain was supported by a large turnout of ladies, gents and visitors who enjoyed Faye’s hospitality not to mention a particularly well organised Captain’s day on Friday last, highlighted by a wonderful array of prizes which were presented on the night.

Full results were - Lady Captain’s Prize, Faye McGrotty - 1, Anne Hamilton (14) 41 points; 2, Jennifer Rainey (33) 40; gross, Alison Elkin, 31; 3, Lorna Thompson (17) 39; back nine, Joan Hutchman (32) 19; front nine, Agnes McLaughlin (16) 19; Past Captain, Myra Gough (19) 32; Committee, Denise Callan (26) 27; Visiting Lady Captain, Mary McArthur, Redcastle (18) 21 pts. (11 holes); guest, Carol Scoltock; longest drive, Myra Gough; nearest the pin, Alison Elkin.

Gent’s competition – 1, Barry McCool (16) 44 points; 2, Gavin McDonnell (15) 42; gross, Paul McGuigan, 38; visitor, Edmund McGowan 39; juvenile, Adrian Ford (14) 43.


Ballyliffin Ladies Branch await with eager anticipation their very popular Lady Captain’s Day tomorrow.

Roisin Shirreffs has spent most of her life in Scotland but has close connections to Ballyliffin club, having been a child member.

She is related to the highly respected O’Doherty (Oregan) family.

The Ladies Branch wish Roisin the very best of luck for a successful day with fingers crossed for favourable weather conditions.


The August outing of the Donegal Senior Ladies Golf Society was played at North West on a dry but very windy day which made the scoring difficult.

However, Ballybofey & Stranorlar’s Margaret Hynes coped best in the conditions to return the top score of 33 points.

And it was another Twin Towns member who claimed the runners-up spot, Clara McNeill winning a tie-break with 32 points.

The gross prize was claimed by Vera Kearney (Porsalon) with 15 gross points while thidr spot was claimed by Kathleen Porter (Ballybofey & Stranorlar), 32 pts.

Category prizes - Cat. 0-20 - 1, Aileen McGlynn (North West), 31 ; 2, Bernie Treacy (Donegal) 2; Cat 21 – 28 - 1, Ann McDonnell (Portsalon) 30; 2, break of tie, Nellie McHugh (Letterkenny) 29; Cat. 29-36 - 1, break of tie, Grainne McGettigan (Donegal) 22; 2, Kathleen Friel (Portsalon) 22.

First nine, Mary Ferry (Gweedore) 16; second nine, break of tie, Bernie Finn (Donegal) 16.

“2’s,” were carded by Alileen McGlynn, Josephine Stewart and Clara McNeill.

The next outing will take place on Monday, September 16th to Dunfanaghy.

Meanwhile, the Seniors outing to Westport will take place on September 27th and 28th, playing at Castlebar and Westport.

Anyone who hasn’t yet paid the deposit of E20 should do so immediately


City of Derry Ladies

Results from the Diamond Cup (Medal) competition which was staged on Tuesday, August 20th at Prehen - 1, break of tie, Pat Coull (22) 75 nett; 2, Eleanor Coulter (21) 75; 3, Betty McBride (18) 75.

Next week is the LGU Breathrough Cancer Medal competition.

Greencastle Ladies

Philomena Cooke (18) emerged the runaway winner of the Breast Cancer Charity Open at Greencastle last week with 40 points.

The runner-up was Colette Campbell (23) with 36 points on a break of tie with Lady Vice-Captain, Maureen Keys (18).

The C.S.S. was 35 pts.

Next Thursday the competition will be a Ladies Open Stableford with a timesheet in operation.

Places are still available and can be booked by contacting the club.

Redcastle Ladies

Results from Redcastle Ladies’ Confined O2 Stableford, which was held on Monday last, August 19th - 1, Eve Funston (34) 40 points; 2, Lyn McOwan; 3, Oonagh McDermott.

Next Monday’s competition, will be a confined stableford competition with draws at 10.00 a.m and 5.00 p.m.