Debonair Singles Club Championship Final at North West this Sunday

The finals of the Debonair Singles Club Championship and the Augusta Mixed Greensomes Trophy will take place at North West Golf Club this Sunday.

‘Golfer of the year’, Stewart McGinley (4) will contest the Club Championship with up-and-coming juvenile Mathew Stainsby (9) and a close match is expected.

The Augusta Trophy final will be played between Colm McCarroll and Margaret McLaren and the husband and wife pairing of Sean and Marie McLaughlin.

Matches will tee-off at 10.30 a.m. and the end of season presentation will follow.

All the following winners to attend; Spring Trophy - James Lindsay, Stephen McCaul, Robbie Martin, Tom Grant; Club Scratch Cup - Kyle McCarron, James Lindsay, Damien Griffin, Hugh Doherty;

Summer Trophy - Justin MacLochlainn, Norris Sheaffer, Lee Gallagher, Shaun McCloskey; Autumn Trophy - Justin MacLochlainn, Terry Meenan, Anthony Breslin, Eddie Doherty; Debonair Doubles - John Kennedy and Peter Kelly; Kyle McCarron and Gary McLaughlin;

Singles ‘V’ Par- David Mugan, Robbie McFadden, John McGonigle;

Anniversary Open - John O’Hagan, John McGonigle, David Mugan, Stewart McGinley, Colin Barlow, Kevin Doherty; Sweep - Philip Meenan, Gerry Harkin, Colin Starrett; Golfer of the year - Stewart McGinley.

Meanwhile, thirteen handicapper John O’Hagan returned a superb score of 66 nett, to win the Anniversary Open at North West Golf Club last Saturday.

Despite starting with a triple bogey, John played the next eight holes in two over par.

And just to make things difficult, he then managed to double bogey the 10th hole, but again rallied well to cover the next eight holes in four over par for a nett 66.

In second place, just one shot behind was John McGonigle (8) with ‘Nines’ of 37 and 38 for a total of five over gross, nett 67.

Results - 1, John O’Hagan (13) 66 nett; 2, John McGonigle (8) 67 nett; 3, David Mugan 66 nett; Gross - Stewart McGinley 73; Category Two - Colin Barlow nett 68; Category three - Kevin Doherty (20) nett 69; Visitors prize - Sean Lamberton (13) nett 76; The C.S.S. was 71.

Shot of the day belonged to former juvenile convenor, Paul Fitzsimmons who aced the par three 16th hole using a nine Iron for his first ever ace and he receives a Boss watch.

A member of the winning team in the North West team classic, Philip Meenan (16) continued his good form when compiling a great score of 44pts.

Results - 1, break of tie, Phillip Meenan (16) 44pts; 2, Gerry Harkin (17) 44; 3, Colin Starrett (3) 40; C.S.S. was 37pts.

Colin, Jennifer on top in Strabane

There was a good turnout on Sunday past for the Knockavoe School Ladies & Gents Open which was played in glorious autumn sunshine in Strabane.

The winner in the men’s section was relative newcomer to the game, Colin McCafferty (18) who has been making great strides in the game since joining the ranks in April.

He produced his best score to date on Sunday with a brilliant 44 points.

In the Ladies section Jennifer Rouse (13) produced another brilliant round to also record 44pts which has now seen her handicap drop by a further two shots to an all time low of 11.

The runner-up in the men’s section was Ronan Foley (5) with 42 pts which was one under par gross on the day.

In third came Martin Patton (13) with 40 pts with Paul Houston in fifth also on the same total. Gross - Caolan Crawford (5) 35 gross pts. Caolan also picked up the prize for nearest the pin at the 18th while Peter Doherty won the longest drive award.

In the ladies section Olive Reid took the runners-up prize with 40pts from Roisin Corry in third also with 40 pts.

Jennifer Rouse added the longest drive prize to her collection with Lorna Duffy taking nearest the pin at the second hole.