Irish Boys’ Championship tees-off at City of Derry

Wood Driver by Golf Ball June 2000
Wood Driver by Golf Ball June 2000

THE prestigious Irish Boys’ Under-15 Stroke Play Championship opens today (Tuesday) and continues tomorrow (Wednesday) at City of Derry Golf Club

With 120 talented youngsters from all over Europe taking part, the competition will be intense and the event presents the local golfing fraternity with a superb opportunity to see the future kingpins of European golf displaying their talents.

Admission is free and the first players tee-off at 7.30 a.m. with the last group setting off at 2.30 p.m.

Incidentally the last time Prehen hosted these particular championships, current professionals Michael Hoey and Graeme McDowell were included in the winner’s enclosure.

In addition, the Irish Boys’ Inter Provincial matches will be played on Thursday and Friday of this week and once again admission is free with visitors being more than welcome.

Meanwhile, remaining with junior golf and City of Derry’s Ronan Burns continued his run of good form when claiming Mr. Brian Long’s Centenary Presidents Prize following a break of tie with Jack McIntyre, both players returning 39 points.

Andrew Dickson finshed in third spot.

In the Frankie Campbell Matchplay Championship Ross Hunter successfully defended his title when overcoming a determined Joe Mc Fadden by 3&2.

Steady Ross

Leads the Way

Chris Ross (7) was the outright winner of the weekly Thursday Open at Prehen last week with an impeccably compiled 41 points, the highlight of his round being a bogey-free back nine with pars at every hole.

Raymond Taylor (12) took second place on 40 points, just one point ahead of Jonathan Love (13) who had a real rollercoaster of a round with 25 points on the front nine followed by a disappointing 14 on the homeward run.

The gross prize was taken once again by Ernie Heywood (1) with 36 points and the best visitor was Ciaran O Neill (8) from Greencastle with 34 points.

The Thursday Opens will run as usual next week but with limited tee times in the morning, members and visitors are kindly asked to book their times online at or by telephone at 02871-311496.

Meanwhile, John Woods (11) was the latest winner of a Centenary Gold Medal specially struck to mark City of Derry’s 100th anniversary, he had an excellent 41 points with 23 of them coming from his lever par second nine which gave him a tie-breaking victory over silver medallist Tony McCann (13).

Chris Wilson (23) took home the bronze medal with his 40 points following a count back. Chris will surely rue his five dropped shots over the last three holes. Ernie Heywood (scr) won yet another gross, this time with 36 points.

Open Team Golf at Prehen

Local Chartered Accountants, McDaid, McCullough & Moore have kindly agreed to sponsor the Open Team Classic which will be played at City of Derry this weekend, the event forming part of the club’s Centenary celebrations.

The teams of four Classic will be played over Saturday and Sunday next, August 25th and 26th. The format is Stableford with the best two scores at each hole to count. In addition to ladies and gents, one junior golfer, whose handicap is less than 12, may play in a team.

Entry for members is £20 each and visitors £25. which will includes a free green fee for a round at Prehen - great value as the a course is in great shape.