Justin reigns supreme at North West Golf Club

Wood Driver by Golf Ball June 2000
Wood Driver by Golf Ball June 2000

MR. PAT Mackey’s Captain’s Day at Lisfannon attracted a staggering field of 240 competitors on Saturday last, the event played on a links course close to tournament conditions.

And taking full advantage of the conditions was Justin MacLochlainn (3) who posted a superb 68 gross (41 points) to win by a points.

With the North-West course showing its teeth with well defined fairways quickly giving way to thick rough, it was going to take straight hitting and sublime accuracy on what proved to be flawless putting surfaces.

Justin matched this description perfectly, his 68 shots contained four birdies - at the 4th ,9th,11th and 13th holes.

A bogey 5 at the 17th and a three putt for a par on the par five 18th from the edge of the green, robbed him of the chance to post an even lower score, however, he held out to win by one point from Brendan Coyle (10) who defeated Cathal Begley (12) on a break of tie to secure the runners-up spot, both players returning 40 points.

Johnny Harding won the gross with a 72.

Full results - Mr. Pat Mackey’s Captain’s Day - 1, Justin MacLochlainn (3) 41 points; 2, break of tie, Brendan Coyle (10) 40; gross, Johnny Harding, 72; 3, Cathal Begley (12) 40; 4, Joe McColgan (13) 38; 5, Michael Hegarty (5) 37; back nine, Paul Fitzsimons, 21; front nine, Gerard Gallagher, 21; youth, Jason Spence (6) 37; gentleman’s Przie, Jim Shields (nine holes) 19; Past Captain, John O’Brien (9) 35; Council Prize, John O’Donnell (10) 32; longest drive, Garrett Mallon; nearest the pin, Justin MacLochlainn.

Captain’s Prize to Ladies Branch - 1, Maureen Cassidy (26) 37 points; 2, Margaret O’Hea (19) 35; 3, Sarah Power (14) 32; front nine, Michelle O’Sullivan; back nine, Sheila Reid, 19.

Captain’s Prize to Juveniles - 1, Mathew Stainsby (20) 45 points; 2, Kyle McCarron (4) 41 .

Captain’s Guests - 1, break of tie, Joe Wirth (6) 34 points; 2, Alex Walker (10) 34; 3, Tom Hayes (16) 32.

Friday, July 13th Captain’s Scramble - 13 holes - 1, Darren McLaughlin, Liam Galbraith, Eddie Hegarty and Kevin McGeough, 31.4 nett; 2, Oliver Doherty, Ann O’Neill, Maureen Cassidy and Nuala Mallon, 32.4.

Tuesday, July 10th - Open “Meal Deal” - 1, Michael Bradley (7) 38 points; 2, Ruairi Bradley (11) 37.

Thursday, July 12th - Open Stableford - 1, Michael Hegarty (5) 41 points; 2, Niall Douglas (17) 40; 3, Jonathan Doherty (10) 39; visitor, Peter Kelly (13) 38.

Meanwhile, this weekend, North-West is delighted to announce details of a Two-Day Open Stableford to be staged this weekend in conjunction with the Open Championship.

The event will be sponsored by Total Golf with accumulative scores from both days to count. Prizes - 1st, 2nd, 3rd, gross, visitors plus daily prizes.

For timesheet, contact Gary in the Club Shop on 00-353-7493-61715. The entry fee is members E10, visitors E30 which covers both days.

Carrycullion Classic

One of the best events on the golfing calendar is just six weeks away when the “Carrycullion Classic” tees off in Killarney on Monday, September 3rd.

The 72 holes tournament will be played on three top courses – Mahony’s Point, Lackabane and twice on Killeen, venue for the Irish Open in 2010 and 2011.

Four places are still available and open to any golfer who would like a golfing holiday in one of the world’s most beautiful places.

The party will be based in the superb Castlerosse Hotel, just minutes from the three courses. It is a seven night stay, arriving on Saturday, September 1st and booking out on September 8th. Looking after the event is the familiar twosome of Colm McCarroll (tel 07990507166) and Jimmy McGee (tel 07971192354).

The cost is E490 which includes accommodation (bed and breakfast), green fees, tournament entry fee (E50) and presentation dinner in the Castlerosse Hotel on Friday evening. For those who require single accommodation the price is E650.

Defending his title is former international Frank McCarroll who can expect some tough opposition, not least from Francis Duffy who won way back in 1980 when a trip from North-West last visited Killarney.