Mailey‘s Bar Crowned Friday Night Darts League champions

editorial image
Share this article

Mailey’s Bar secured the 2015/16 Estate Services Friday Night Darts League title last Friday after defeating the Fairview by 12 legs to 3.

The newly crowned champions didn’t have it all their own way though and suffered an early setback when Paul Hegarty (Fairview) defeated Mailey’s captain James Clancy 2-0 in the first game of the evening. Order was restored however by the rest of the team with that opening defeat the only game Mailey’s lost. Sean Gallagher’s performance was the highlight of the evening, Gallagher hitting two 180 maximums and three 140s in 12 and 18 dart legs.

The Cosh Inn claimed the runners-up sport by defeating George’s Bar 10-5 with Martin McCloskey winning to secure joint ‘Player of the Year’ with Sean Wilson of Mailey’s.

Ciaran McNally and J. P. McElhinney won for George’s Bar in a closely fought game while Mary Bs saw off Tracey’s at home by 10-4, John Curran the only winner for the away team.

Mark Quigley had the highest check out with a 122 ‘bull-out’ shoot while Declan Gallagher registered a 180 maximum in defeating Frankie Stewart 2-1.

Brandywell hit seven points to move above George’s by one point into 8th with Oak going down 12-4 against Phoenix, Thomas Nixon hitting two maximums against Mary Magill, Donal Kelly and A. Roberts winning for the home team.

League Results, Week 18

BRANDYWELL 7, CARRAIG 10: G.Coyle 5x100 v E.Doherty 100; R.Armstrong 10 v A. Newton 140, 100; B. Robinson 140, 100, 121 Vs G. Temple 2x100; D. McCallion 2x100 v G. Carlin 100; G. O Neill 100 v S. O’Kane 2x100; S. Ramsey 140, 100, 56 out v S. O Hagan 140, 2x125; J. McCallion 140 v J. O’Neill 5x100

OAK 4, PHOENIX 12: G. Houston 121 v R. Doherty 3x100, 123; W. Greene v M. Wallace 125, 121, 100; P. J. Gillespy v B. Collett 2x100; A. Roberts 140, 4x100 v N. Henry 2x140, 2x100; Mary Magill 2x100 v T. Nixon 2x180, 140; D. Kelly 140, 100 v K. Wylie 140, 116; K. Dalzell v E. McDermott 2x100

MARY BS 10, TRACEY’S 4: C. McConnell 137, 135, 2x100 v M. Hegarty 135, 100; D. Gallagher 180, 140, 100 v F. Stewart 127; P. Houston 140 v J.Curran 3x100; M. Quigley 122 out, ‘bull finish’ v K. McCafferty 0; P. Dunne 110, 100 v D. Rigby 116, 100; A. McMenamin 2x100 v R. Rodgers 0.

Fairview 3, Maileys 12: P. Curran 2x100 v P.McGrath 180, 122; T. Deehan 121 v A. Whoriskey 140, 135, 19 darts; P. Hegarty 140 v J. Clancy 135; E. Cassidy 140, 106, 100 v S.Wilson 140, 117 out; A. Donnell 115, 100 v S. Gallagher 2x180, 2x118, 100, 12 darts; G. Doherty 100 v Derek Gallagher 125, 2x100

D. Adams 121 v Dean Gallagher 134;

Georges 5, Cosh 10: No sheet returned

Fixtures: Tonight’s games are Top 5 in George’s Bar and bottom 5 in the Carraig Bar (Singles 501 x two games, Doubles 601 x 1 Game, Trebles 701x1 Captains play-off if required; 1 x 501 Double in Double out.

Final league positions

1, Mailey’s 210; 2, Cosh 204; 3, Phoenix 80; 4, Carraig 151; 5, Mary Bs 142; 6, Tracey’s 137; 7, Fairview 134; 8, Brandywell 127; 9, George’s 126; 10, Oak 67. Payout and AGM this Monday (June 20th)