McIver rings the changes as McKenna Cup Squad released

editorial image

Derry manager Brian McIver gets a new era for Derry football underway after naming a raft of new intercounty rookies in his initial squad for next month’s McKenna Cup.

There are two new goalkeepers named in the panel in the form of Thomas Mallon from the Loup and Eoin McNicholl of Glenullin, the latter making the step up to the senior ranks a full 10 years after winning All-Ireland minor honours in 2002.

There’s also an influx of new blood in the backs with call-ups for Declan Brown of Bellaghy, Philip Bradley from Ballinascreen, Banagher’s Micheal Anderson and Swatragh youngster Conor McAtamney.

Further forward there are call-ups for Thomas Mallon of the Loup and Kilrea’s Lee Kennedy. Ballinderry forward Ryan Bell is also included while two his Shamrocks club mates make a return to the fold in the form of Collie Devlin and Raymond Wilkinson.

Derry Panel: Eoin McNicholl (Glenullin), Declan Brown (Bellaghy), Philip Bradley (Ballinascreen), Micheál Anderson (Banagher), Aidan McAlynn (Loup), Mark Lynch (Banagher), Conor McAtamney (Swatragh), Patsy Bradley (Slaughtneil), PJ McCloskey (Banagher), Declan Mullan (Eoghan Rua), Ryan Bell (Ballinderry), Sean Leo McGoldrick (Eoghan Rua), Lee Kennedy (Kilrea), Eoin Bradley (Glenullin), Raymond Wilkinson (Ballinderry), Thomas and Gavin Mallon (Loup), Joe Morgan (Kilrea), Dermot McBride (Ballinascreen), Brian McCallion (Greenlough), Charlie Kielt (Kilrea), Enda Lynn (Greenlough), Coilin Devlin (Ballinderry), Barry McGoldrick (Eoghan Rua), Blaine Gormley (Craigbane), John McCamley (Glen).