Popular Lady President dominates proceedings at Ballyliffin this weekend

BALLYLIFFIN Golf Club’s popular Lady President, Ann McNicholl (on right), will host her “big day” tomorrow (Saturday) on the Old Course.

Dinner will be served in the Linx Restaurant at 8.30 p.m. sharp and the entire Ballyliffin membership extend best wishes to Ann in the hope that clement weather conditions will prevail on the day.

The draw resulted as follows - 8.30 a.m., Kathleen M Keague, Lynda O’Doherty, Anne Friel; 8.45, Nuala McCarroll, Marie D’Urso, Geraldine McLaughlin; 9.00, Lucia Mullen, Geraldine Mullen, Nancy Doherty; 9.15, Ellen Nelson, Ann McLaughlin (P), Maire Mullen; 9.30, Mary Tully, Mary M Cool, Danielle Mc Geoghegan; 9.45, Cathy McGeoghegan, Margaret Hirrell, Anna Corr; 10.15, Kathleen Morris, Joan Doherty, Crea Harkin; 10.30, Rita McCrossan, Jackie Doherty, Sadie Grant (PN); 10.45, Breda McGonagle, Ann Diver, Annette Doherty; 11.00, Marlene O’Kane, Pauline Madden, Maureen Carey; 11.15, Gertie Monagle, Kathleen Cuddihy, Bridie Kelly; 11.30, Mary McGeoghan, Sadie Grant (N), Agnes Logue; 12.00 noon, Naula Mallon, Mags Houghen, Roisin Shirreffs; 12.15, Marion Thesiera, Susanna Moore, Aine McElhinney; 12.30, Mary McGonagle, Marie Gough, Karen McLaughlin; 12.45, Virginia Byrne, Roisin Rooney, Fiona Fagan; 1.00, Molly McCloskey, Ann Murphy, Theresa McLaughlin, Mary Hackett; 1.20, Margaret Monaghan, Breege Boyle, Anna Doherty, Marion McEleney; 3.00, Sally Feeney, Bernie McCarron, Noeleen Gordon; 3.15, Breige Doherty, Margaret Doherty O, Lisa Glover; 3.30, Trish Kelly, Geraldine McCarron, Kathleen Mc Eleney.

Meanwhile, Ballyliffin Ladies Branch ex-officio, Agnes Logue (20), wife of the current club President Frank, proved that her cares of office have finally left her when she returned a magnificent score of 46 points to win the Atlantic Cup.

This magnificent trophy was presented to the Ladies Branch by the McLaughlin Family whose late father, James, was a founder member of the club.

The runner-up was Karen McLaughlin who carded a highly respectable 40 points.

Redcastle Ladies

Redcastle Golf Club’s Lady Captain, Mary McArthur, enjoyed a superb turnout for her Lady Captain’s Day on Saturday last, June 22nd, with those taking part experiencing mixed weather conditions. However, members and visitors had enjoyable day followed by a good night of fun after the competition.

Long standing Redcastle member, Lyn McOwen, took top honours to record her first Captain’s Day victory.

Full results were - Lady Captain’s Day - 1, Lyn McOwen (22) 70 nett; 2, Jennie Flanagan (13) 74; gross, Maggie Logue; 3, Geraldine McCrory (31) 76; first nine, Nuala McQuaid; second nine, Una Smyth; Committee Prize, Una Morrison (19) 78; Past Captain, Gena Porter (20) 77; longest drive, Jennie Flanagan; nearest the pin, Suzanne McGonagle; visiting Lady Captain, Evelyn Smith (Buncrana); Lady Visitor, Joan Watt; visitors’ longest drive, Rosaleen McAnualla (City of Derry); gents’ visitor, Victor Eakin; gents competition - 1, Danny Moore; 2, J. K. Doherty.

Result from Peggy Nelson Qualifier on June 17th - winning team - Jennie Flanagan, Una Smyth and Nuala McQuaid.

Next Monday’s competition - July 1st - Bank of Ireland Cup, draw times at 10 a.m., 5 p.m. and 5.30 p.m. sharp.

City of Derry Ladies

A break of tie was called upon to decide the destination of the prestigious Prehen Open Salver competition, kindly sponsored by Cilento Boutique (Strabane), with good scoring reflecting the current condition of the City of Derry course.

In the end, Maire McReynolds defeated Niamh Quigg and Catherine McCanny after all three returned scores of 35 points.

Full results were - Prehen Open Salver - 1, break of tie, Maire McReynolds (17) 35 points; 2, Niamh Quigg (4) 35; 3, Catherine McCanny (10) 35; 4, Betty McBride (18) 34; 5, Amy Chambers (5) 34 points; visitor, Margaret McLaren (15), North-West, 32; 1st nine, Lou Peoples (23) 19; 2nd nine, Rosie Short (25) 20.

Next Tuesday’s competition is Mr. Captain’s Prize to the Ladies Branch (draw for markers).

Buncrana Ladies

Results from Friday, June 21st - 1, Margaret McColgan (16) 36 points; 2, Betty McBride (18) 35.

Lady Captain’s Day (Evelyn Smith), Friday, July 5th with presentation of prizes and dinner in the clubhouse at 8.00 p.m.