Rankin retains Lisnagelvin title

Close to 120 runners lined-up on a wet and windy Wednesday night last for the Lisnagelvin 5 Kms.,the second in the Furey Insurances Series.

And the 2010 winner, Foyle Valley’s Scott Rankin, saw off a strong challange from City of Derry’s Noel Logan and Sperrin Harrier, Chris McPeake, to retain his grip on the title with a gutsy 15 m. 54 secs. effort in the difficult conditions.

Inishowen AC’s Helena Crossan ran 18 m. 19 s. to clearly claim the women’s honours ahead of the Spartans’ Anne Paul and Letterkenny’s Noreen McGettigan as the entire field battled the elements to put on a show which kept the large turnout of spectators thoroughly entertained on the three lap Lisnagelvin circuit.

Up front Rankin, Logan, McPeake, Kieron Hurley and James Brown made the early pace to break away from the field.

On the second lap the latter duo dropped back and into the final lap Rankin and Logan moved into a head to head battle having dropped the Tyrone man.

Through the Park and with the wind at their backs, Rankin took command and opened up a gap which he hammered out to a 15 seconds margin at the finish line. The ‘red vest’ however, kept his head to hang onto the runners-up spot on 16 mins. 9 secs. getting home with two seconds to spare on his gritty Sperrin rival, McPeake.

Kieron Hurley won the battle of the chasing Spartans, fourth in 16 m. 22 s. just a stride ahead of James Brown on 16m 23s and another Foyle Valley man, Chris McGuinness, completed the top six in 16m 51s.

The Male Masters prizes were shared across several clubs,B rown taking the M35 honours; Bill Duncan and Declan McCarthy, also of City Of Derry, were the top M40 and M45 finishers on 18 m. 18 s. and 17 m. 11 s. respectively.

Foyle Valley’s Seamus McCallion ran 18m 57s for the M50 win; a 18m17s run gave Jim Breen of Springwell pole position in the M55 grade; the M60 and M65 award went to Moville man Seamus McElhinney and Desmond Brownlee from Lagan Valley who posted times of 23m 23s and 25m 59s. John O’Neill of Mid Ulster ran 18m 15s to take the Boys’ U20 prize.

Helena in command

Despite Dawn McDaid taking the early pace in the women’s race it was the doughty Helena Crossan who mastered the conditions best and the Inishowen runner came home well clear of her opposition in 18m 19s.

Back after injury in second was the Spartans Anne Paul who clocked 18m 51s to beat Letterkenny athlete, Noreen McGettigan, in 19m 1s with Foyle Valley’s McDaid claiming fourth and the F40 win on 19m 25s. Jackie McGinley was the second ‘red vest’ finisher, fifth with 19m 47s and Dawn’s sister Rosie O’Brien was sixth in 19m 56s.

The Female Masters awards went to Lisa McGeady, F35 with 27m 8s; Bridgeen Byrne, F45 on 21m 8s; Finn Valley’s Gloria Donaghy F50 with 22m 21s and the top F60 was City of Derry’s Roisin Lynch with 23m 27s.

No F55 or U20 females finished.

Buncrana 5K Next Up

Next up in the Furey Series is the Buncrana race on Wednesday, May 25th, and this one is expected to attract 400 plus participants for the 7.30 pm start. Pre-entries are recommended and this can be done by emailing your name, age on race day and club to fudgelarge@gmail.com

The race pack can be picked up on the night at race HQ, Scoil Mhuire Secondary School - from 5.30pm - and the reduced entry fee of £7 or E9 paid.

Entries on the night will also be accepted but the usual £8 or E10 will apply. More race details next week.

Staying with the local scene its the Culdaff 5K and Juvenile One Mile event takes place tonight (Friday) at 7.30 pm,the Run Donegal Womens 5K in Glenveagh on Sunday at 11.00 a.m. and in Letterkenny on Tuesday night next it’s the annual Inter Firms 5K.

Foyle Valley promote their annual ‘Wilkie’s Clasic’ 5 mile out of the Long Tower Centre next Thursday night, May 19th. This is a local favourite attracting big numbers with entries taken at the Centre on the night and boasts a flat out-and-back course on the former Derry to Strabane railway line on the Letterkenny Road.