Record Entry for Charity Team Classic

There was a record entry for the Team Classic at Strabane on Sunday past when a superb entry of 63 teams turned out for the inaugural Meningitis Research Trust Team Classic - a fitting response for the hard working committee which put the event together with marvellous prizes and unequalled sponsorship,

The total raised was in excess of £13,000, which is also a new record amount for a team classic on the Ballycolman links.

Results were - 1, Freddie Patterson, Michael Baldrick, John Brolly and John McMemamin, 109 points; 2, Eoin O’Neill, Brian Boyle, Pat O’Neill and Brian Haughey, 108; 3, Martin McDermott, Jimmy Callan, Kieran O’Neill

and Kevin Connolly, 107; 4, Eamon and Laura McCay and Frankie and Caroline Connolly, 105; 5, Denis Porter, Kevin Keegan, Joe Doherty and

George Turner, 104; 6, G. Curran, D.Hinds, S. Sommers and R. Godfrey, from City of Derry, 103.

Club Captain, Dr. Ciaran Kelly, congratulated the Organising Committee led by Sean Devine on their tremendous work in making the event such a success and added that he hoped the competition would become a major feature on the fixture list in years to come.

Meanwhile, there was another huge entry for Last Saturday’s Strabane Electrics competition when 183 cards were taken out and results were - 1, Damian Carey (12) 42 points; 2, Paddy O’Kane (9) 41; 3, Stephen Curry (10), 38; 4, Frankie Houston (14) 38; 5, Darrell Meadows(14) 38; gross, Stephen McCay (5) 31; first nine, Paul McGill (7) 21; second nine, Jim Callaghan (16) 21.

A notable event that was missed in the golf column a couple of weeks back in the P. G McGillion Open. Nigel Houston carded a hole in one at the 12th, Nigel’s first ever ‘ace’ in competitive play.

Results from the final week of the Thursday Club - 1, Ronnie Wiley (11) 39 points; 2, Johnny Potts (22) 34; 3, Brian Haughey (12) 34.5.

Hugh Casey, as expected, wrapped up the ‘Golfer of the Year’ title adding nine points to his total to finish on 158 points. The runner-up was Kevin

Keegan, 145 points; with Denis Porter taking third on 120 pts.

There was no change in the ‘King of the Twos’ competition with Keith Patterson taking that crown with eight ‘twos’ throughout the series.

The final day of the Monday Club took place last Monday with 11 teams taking part, the final winners were Jim Arbuckle, Pascal McGillian, Jimmy Duncan and Terence McDermott with 85 pts nett. The runners up were Cahir Doherty, Angus Callaghan, Patsy Wilson and Martin Finlay with 84.75 Nett with third going to Jimmy Callan, Jimmy Coyle, Frank Friel and Hugo mcGarrigle with 83.5 Nett.

Wednesday night mixed.

Last Tuesday’s ladies event was the ‘Daily Mail Foursomes’ event and it was won by Mary McCrory and Geraldine McCrory with 38 points, three clear of the runners-up Bernie O’Kane and Anne Sharkey.

Forthcoming fixtures - tomorrow (Sat.), Cafe Fresco Open Stableford; Sunday, April 28th, Cystic Fibrosis Ladies & Gents Open; Monday, April 29th, 18 holes qualifying; Tuesday, April 30th, Ladies Open Day.