Shields swoops to land Presidential success at a blustery Lisfannon

THE first Derry-based player to have represented Manchester United simply refuses to retire from the world of sport, or so it seems after Jim Shields swooped to claimed Mr. Eamonn MacManus’ President’s Prize at North-West on Saturday last.

He may not be as quick off the mark these days after a number of hip operations, but his long-standing never-say-die attitute served him well on the tight Lisfannon links.

Despite having started his round with two ugly triple bogies, Shields called on his wealth of experience to get him back on track.

With the competition played off the back tees, the strong breeze and heavy showers, particularly in the afternoon, will have had some players struggling over the opening five holes but Jim, one of the early starters in the field of over 170, soldiered on.

Two points in arrears in the runners-up spot was the steady Derek McDowell, with Hugh Duffy taking third spot with 35 pts.

Full results were - 1, Jim Shields (24) 38 points; 2, Derek McDowell (12) 36; 3, Hugh Duffy (14) 35; gross, Kyle McCarron, 73; 4, Leo McGowan (19) 34; 5, Chris Lavin (21) 34; Council, John O’Donnell (10) 31; Past President, John O’Brien (8) 30; visitor, Noel McEntee (26) 29; Veteran, F. E. McCarroll; Super Vet., Brendan Burke; first nine, Kevin McGowan, 18; back nine, Jason Mallon, 21; nearest the pin, John Spence; longest drive, Gary McLaughlin.

The C.S.S. was 33 pts.

Meanwhile, the in-form Stewart McGinley claimed the prestigious Glengollan Cup on Sunday last having survived a break of tie with Sean McLaughlin.

The Scot posted a well compiled one over par gross, for a winning 39 points.

Full results were - 1, break of tie, Stewart McGinley (4) 39 points; 2, Sean McLaughlin (6) 39; 3, Jason Spence (5) 38; Category 1, Sean Bridge (6) 35 points; Cat. 2, Bosco Reid (13) 37; Cat. 3, Leo McGowan (19) 31.

The C.S.S. was 36 pts.

Team Classic a major

success at Strabane

Over 50 teams participated in last weekend’s Glenelly G.A.A. Team Classic at Strabane, with no fewer than 40 visiting teams in the field.

The winning quartet was made up of - Oliver Creswell, Francie Conwell, John Doherty and Joe Kennedy with 106 points with Kevin Connolly, Kevin McCrystal, Dermott Corry and Francie McGranaghan the runners-up just one point in arrears.

In third spot was the team of Kevin Keegan, Denis Porter, George Turner with Brian Forrester with 103 and in fourh place was Terry Doherty, Frankie Houston, Gerard Walsh, and Kieran McBride with 102 pts.

Results from the Strabane Training Services Open which was staged on Saturday last - 1, Freddie Wilson (9), Ballybofey and Stranorlar, 40 points; 2, Dr Ciaran Kelly, 39; 3, Patsy McHugh, 38; 4, Sean Elliott, 36; 5, Shane McLaughlin, 36; gross, Fred McGavigan (4), 33; front nine, Peter Doherty sen.; back nine, Francie Devine.

The C.S.S. was 34 pts.

Forthcoming fixtures - tomorrow (Sat.), Park Kirk Open Stableford; Monday, August 26th, Murphy’s on the Green Bank Holiday Open; Tuesday, August 27th, Mrs. Mary Duffy’s Lady President’s Prize.