Teenager Claims Debonair Singles Championship on Lisfannon Links

Brickkiln Singles & Pairs Championships DSC_0027'L -R Martin Loughrey Pairs Winner, Brendan Gallagher Singles R / U, Mr George Fitzpatrick [ Captain ] Damien Martin Singles Winner, Ciaran Bradley Pairs Winner.
Brickkiln Singles & Pairs Championships DSC_0027'L -R Martin Loughrey Pairs Winner, Brendan Gallagher Singles R / U, Mr George Fitzpatrick [ Captain ] Damien Martin Singles Winner, Ciaran Bradley Pairs Winner.

ONE of North-West Golf Club’s “young guns” has hit the headlines following the completion of the coveted Debonair Singles Matchplay Trophy recently.

The competition, which has been played for since the 1890’s, was won in convincing style this season by 14-years-old Mathew Stainsby (8) who claimed no shorttage of notable scalps on his way to the title.

Indeed, his 2&1 victory in last Sunday’s final over the club’s experienced “Golfer of the Year,” Stewart McGinlay, proved to be a memorable win.

Mathew won the first hole to go one up, and after nine holes had increased his lead to 3 up. However, Stewart won the 11th to reduce the deficit but back came Mathew who claimed two of the next three holes to go dormie with four to play.

Stewart then showed his battling qualities when claiming the next two holes, before both players parred the long 17th which gave the teenager a hugely impressive 2&1 verdict.

In the Debonair Doubles Matchplay Final, the pairing of John Kennedy and Peter Kelly proved to be too strong for Gary McLaughlin and Kyle McCarron when winning on a 4&3 scoreline.

Meanwhile, in the annual Augusta Trophy Mixed Foursomes, the husband and wife pairing of Sean and Marie McLaughlin justified their favourites tag when defeating the pairing of Colm McCarroll and Margaret McLaren 4&3 in their final.

A level par round of 70 saw Justin MacLochlainn (4) claiming the Category 1 prize in the Winter Trophy with 40 points.

Winner of Category 2 prize was Colin Barlow (9) with the best of the day scores of 42 points. The Category 3 winner was Hugh Duffy (13) while Jamie Friel won Category 4 with a well compiled 38 points.

The annual Winter League will tee-off this Sunday, the fourball better ball event qualifying period running for the next six weeks with four scores to count.

The top 24 pairs will qualify for the matchplay stages with the top eight securing a bye into the second round.

The entry fee is E15 per person which includes a complimentary meal at the prizegiving ceremony.

Winter League Underway at Buncrana

The Owen McDaid (Roe) Winter League got underway last weekend at Buncrana and the new format has created no shortage of interest.

Last weekend’s format was a Two Ball Scramble and the pairing of Kevin Murphy & Ferdia O’Flaherty played some tremendous golf to return a fantastic 49 points which secure them the first weekly prize.

However, there will be a break in the Winter League this weekend to facilitate the Drift Inn Bar & Restaurant Outing which will take place tomorrow (Sat.) from 9.30 a.m. onwards.

The Winter League will resume on Saturday and Sunday, Ocobter 12th and 13th and it is not too late for pairings who missed the first week to enter. With two Fridays and this Sunday to return scores, there are opportunities to catch up.

The qualifying for the annual Christmas Hamper has also commenced and competitors can take out cards in conjunction with the Winter League. The entry fee is E4 with a E2 re-entry and it takes 21 pts. over nine holes to qualify.

The next committee meeting will take place on Tuesday, October 8th at 7:00 p.m. sharp and all committee members are requested to attend. Congratulations to young Matthew McDermott who shot a very impressive 41 points last weekend on the Old Course at Ballyliffin to take first prize in the Conor Mallon Youth League Open Singles competition.

Ballyliffin Results

Sunday, September 29th - Confined Stableford - 1, Liam McLaughlin (12) 38 points; 2, break of tie, Peter Hughes (7) 37; 3, Liam Doherty C (11) 37; gross, Paul Van Dessel (3) 31; 4, Mark Taylor (18) 37.

The C.S.S. was 71.

Saturday, September 28th - Confined Stableford - 1, Brendan Devlin (1) 39 points; 2, Paul Houten (16) 36; 3, Paul O’Donoghue (7) 34.

The C.S.S. was 75.

Friday, September 27th - Confined Scramble - 1, T. Gill, P. Toland, J. McDermott and P. Doherty, 24.5 nett; 2, D. Doherty, J. Monagle, M. Andrews and M. McDermott, 24.7; 3, S. Doherty, P. Quigley, M. Mullen and M. Monagle, 25.2.

Friday, September 27th - Conor Mallon Youth Trophy - 1, Mathew McDermott (26) 41 points; 2, Mathew Stainsby (9) 39; Gross, Ryan Harkin (6) 29; 3, D. J. McGeoghegan (18) 38.

September 26th - Wednesday Society - 1, break of tie, Frank Logue, 40 points; 2, Tony Gill, 40; 3, break of tie, Alo Tully, 39. “2’s” were carded by Robert McCool, Liam Rodden and Frank Logue.

Fixtures - tomorrow (Sat.), Open Stableford on Old Links; Sunday, October 6th, Confined Stableford on Glashedy.


Sixteen handicapper, Dermot McBride (16) , was top of the pops on Saturday at Greencastle with a good score of 39 points.

A steady opening half of level ‘2’s’ was followed by a back nine which included a birdie at the long par four 14th. He was followed home by Stephen Corbett, also playing off 16, with the better score of 37 points.

Johnny Harvey, yet another (16) man, had the same score but lost out over the last six holes.

Willie Havlin won the gross with 32 points, and the ‘nines’ went to Barry Nicholas and Jack Keys.

Three players finished on 37 points in the Ladies section, but with a better back nine Pat Donaghy (20) claimed the top prize.

On Sunday, Mike Bonner (20) collected his first major prize of the year. Four over through the first three holes, he settled to finish with 19 points on the front nine, and then had five pars on the back nine as he garnered 24 points for a winning total of 43.

Paddy Monagle (8) finished second, two points adrift while Nigel Davenport (8) finished in third on 39.

Maurice Brennan won the gross with 32 points while Shaun McDaid and Niall McCourt won the ‘nines.’

Thee club hamper has been brought forward this year to enable more members to play and also hopefully play in better conditions. The usual criteria apply, members can only compete on one day, and cannot play the course on Saturday if they are competing on the Sunday.