Boxing duo and McWilliams scoop top Sports Awards

Conor Coylet. DER3214MC020
Conor Coylet. DER3214MC020

DERRY’S Commonwealth Games boxing medalists, Connor Coyle and Sean McGlinchey were among the city’s sports stars honoured at the 2014 Derry District Sports Council Awards held at the City Hotel on Friday night.

Representing N. Ireland at the 2014 Games in Glasgow, both Coyle and McGlinchey grabbed bronze medals and they shared the Sports Council’s prestigious Senior Male Sports Personality award.

Triathlete, Maeve Maher McWilliams claimed the Female Sports Personality accolade, fending off tough opposition from Mary McCauley (Kickboxing) and Leann Mallett (Triathlon) on the night.

McWilliams enjoyed her most successful year as a triathlete, winning the City of Derry Triathlon and finishing runner-up in the Liam Ball Triathlon in 2014.

Mixed Martial Arts and boxing were well represented and, indeed, exponents of karate and kickboxing made up the majority of winners from the 21 different categories which were handed out by this year’s Special Guest of Honour, All-Ireland winning manager, Tyrone’s Mickey Hart.

World ISKA Amateur Kickboxing champion, Brian Houston rounded off a stunning year with the Youth Male Sports award, rising to the top of one of the most competitive categories while fellow kickboxer, Emma McGilloway - who was crowned World, European and All Ireland champion in 2014 - picked up the Youth Female award.

The Derry District Sports Council’s Executive Committee nominated six sports personalities or teams for the Sports Personality award. Tristar Boys FC, who celebrated its 40th anniversary in 2014; Culmore’s Paul O’Doherty (Ironman) who was crowned the new Asia-Pacific 70.3 Ironman Age Group champion in Hawaii; Susan Spence - the first female President at City of Derry RFC; Danny Sheerin, who completed his 33rd Derry marathon last year and Derry & District F.A. Fixture Secretary, Liam Smyth who has been a great servant for the junior football association, were all recognised for their achievements.

Other winners included Oak Leaf ABC’s Eugene O’Kane Jr. who picked up the Sports Coach award for helping coach Sean McGlinchey to Commonwealth bronze and Brett McGinty to a National Cadet title.

While Culmore FC’s Gerry Magee was recognised for his contribution to the club who celebrated its 50th anniversary last year when winning the Services to Sport award. The major team award, Sports Team of the Year, went to Culmore Karate Club.

Roll of Honour

Sports with Disabilities Individual - Ciara Harkin (Football); Junior Female - Cara Laverty (Athletics); Junior Female - Kate Parlour (Swimming); Juvenile Male - Corey Hughes (Karate); Juvenile Male - Conal Fagan (Soccer); Youth Female - Emma McGilloway (Kickboxing); Youth Male - Brian Houston (Kickboxing); Senior Female - Maeve Maher McWilliams (Triathlon); Senior Male Sports Personality - Connor Coyle and Sean McGlinchey (both boxing); Male Masters - Declan Reed (Athletics); Female Masters - Fineen Bradley (Kickboxing); Sports Coach - Eugene O’Kane Jr. (Boxing); Services to Sport - Gerry Magee (Soccer); Junior Team - Trojans U11 (Soccer); Juvenile Team - Steelstown Brian Ogs U14 (Gaelic); Youth Team - City of Derry Swimming; Primary School Team - Broadbridge PS girls (Athletics); Post Primary School Team - St Columb’s College (Soccer); Sports Team - Culmore Karate Club.