TYRONE SFC: Coalisland, Killyclogher to '˜go again' after classic final

Donnelly Group Tyrone Senior Football Final: Coalisland 1-13 Killyclogher 0-16

Monday, 10th October 2016, 11:49 am
Updated Tuesday, 25th October 2016, 8:47 pm
Killyclogher's Emmet McFadden is sent flying from this challenge by Coalisland's Michael McKernan during Sunday's Senior Championship final.

Coalisland 0-16 Killyclogher 1-13

We will have to wait another week to find out the destination of the O’Neill Cup after Coalisland and Killyclogher couldn’t be separated in one of the best senior finals for a number of years.

The sides were level on 11 occasions over the course of the absorbing 60 odd minutes and at the end of the day a draw was a fair result as neither of these two sides deserved to loose after giving it their all.

Cathaoir Quinn is up in the air after scoring Coalisland's goal

Apart from the opening 10 minutes during which both sides struggled to settle, the bumper crowd was treated to a brilliant spectacle with teenager Nathan Donnelly proving the Killyclogher hero with a fisted equaliser two minutes into injury time at the end of the game.

It was just reward for a Killyclogher side who were forced to play the last 20 minutes with only 14 men after defender Gary Wallace was black carded having earlier picked up a yellow one.

Plunkett Kane had Coalisland in front after only 45 seconds but Killyclogher were then dealt an early blow when they lost influential midfielder, Niall McFadden, to a knee injury.

Mark Bradley opened Killyclogher’s account in the 10th minute by which stage they had kicked four wides. Bradley and Padraig Hampsey then exchanged fine points before Conall McCann edged Killyclogher in front with a terrific effort from distance.

A high challenge on Coalisland's Brian Toner from Mat Swift during the Tyrone Senior Championship final.

Brian Toner levelled matters but it was Killyclogher who were looking the more cohesive side at this stage and Bradley and James Carlin helped them into a two point lead with 20 minutes gone.

Coalisland though then enjoyed a good spell with Toner pointing again before team captain Niall Kerr hit an outstanding equaliser with the outside of his boot.

Dermot Thornton and Aidy Kelly traded points before Coalisland were dealt a massive blow when they lost Philip Toner to a serious injury. A brilliant effort from Hampsey was followed by a free from Toner and while McCann knocked over a ‘45’ it was the Fianna who edged the first half 0-8 to 0-7.

Killyclogher came out for the second half with all guns blazing and within seven minutes they had turned a one point deficit into a two point lead thanks to efforts from Leo Meenan, Bradley and substitute Simon O’Neill.

Cathaoir Quinn is up in the air after scoring Coalisland's goal

However, all that was undone though in the 40th minute when a long delivery in from Kerr broke and Cathaoir Quinn gained possession to thump the ball into the roof of the Killyclogher net.

Seconds later and Killyclogher were down to 14 men when Wallace was dismissed.

Despite that setback Killyclogher rallied with Bradley sending over the equaliser before O’Neill scored from a free as well as from play to leave Killyclogher leading 0-13 to 1-8 at the three quarter mark.

Peter McGahan hoisted over a superb Coalisland score before a well struck long range free off the ground from Thornton tied it up once more. Tomas Flanagan and Stephen McNally swapped points as did Bradley and McGahan before midfielder Kane put Coalisland in front in injury time.

A high challenge on Coalisland's Brian Toner from Mat Swift during the Tyrone Senior Championship final.

Donnelly though had the final say so it’s back to Healy Park this weekend again and if the replay is half as good then it will be well worth seeing.

Coalisland: Johnny Curran, Shane Hughes, Louis O’Neill, Michael McKernan, Jason Carberry, Niall Kerr, Dan Fee, Padraig Hampsey, Plunkett Kane, Philip Toner, Cathaoir Quinn, Stephen McNally, Brian Toner, Peter Donnelly, Dermot Thornton. Subs: Eoghan Hampsey for Donnelly, Peter Donnelly for Fee, Peter McGahan for P Toner, Conor Bayne for Carberry

Scorers: Brian Toner 0-3, Cathaoir Quinn 1-0, Padraig Hampsey 0-2, Plunkett Kane 0-2, Dermot Thornton 0-2, Peter McGahan 0-2, Niall Kerr 0-1, Stephen McNally 0-1

Killyclogher: Sean Fox, Martin Swift, Danny Gorman, Gabhan Sludden, Tiernan McCann, Gary Wallace, Emmett McFadden, Niall McFadden, Fergal Meenagh, Aidy Kelly, Conall McCann, Nathan Donnelly, Mark Bradley, James Carlin, Leo Meenan. Subs: Simon O’Neill for N McFadden, Tomas Flanagan for Carlin, Eoin Bradley for O’Neill

Scorers: Mark Bradley 0-6, Simon O’Neill 0-3, Conall McCann 0-2, Aidy Kelly 0-1, Nathan Donnelly 0-1, Leo Meenan 0-1, Tomas Flanagan 0-1, James Carlin 0-1

Referee: Sean Hurson (Galbally).