Assembly Election 16: McGuinness leads Eastwood narrowly in election race

Deputy First Minister Martin McGuinness leads the way very narrowly at the Foyle Assembly Count in Derry.

Friday, 6th May 2016, 2:41 pm
Updated Friday, 6th May 2016, 4:07 pm
Sinn Fein MLA candidates Raymond McCartney, Martin McGuinness, and Maeve McLaughlin leaving the Model School Polling Station on Academy Road. DER1816GS054

After the first declaration Mr McGuinness leads the way on 5,037 votes with the SDLP leader just 37 votes behind on exactly 5,000.

Deputy Returning Officer Patricia Murphy declared that there had been 40,187 votes cast, 485 of which had been spoiled leaving a total of 39,702 vaild votes.

The quota to achieve election to the Assembly was therefore set at 5,672.

No one achieved the quota at the first count.

The announcement of votes ran as follows.

Sinn Fein

Martin McGuinness-5,037

Maeve McLaughlin-3,062

Raymond McCartney-3,198


Colum Eastwood-5,000

Gerard Diver-2,700

Mark H Durkan-4,197


Gary Middleton-4,737


Julia Kee-1,420

Independent Unionist

Maurice Devenney-1,173


Anne MCCloskey-3,410


Kathleen Bradley-902

People Before Profit Alliance

Eamonn McCann-4,176


Chris McCaw-238


Alan Dunlop-36


John Lindsay-259

Green Party

Mary Hassan-157

Therefore the following candidates have been eliminated at the first count in Foyle: Alan Dunlop, Mary Hassan, Chris McCaw and John Lindsay.