Western Trust non-executive directors to stay on until 2017

The Health Minister Michelle O'Neill has extended the terms of appointment of Niall Birthistle, Stella Cummings, Joan Doherty and Sally O'Kane, as non-executive directors within the Western Health and Social Care Trust (HSCT) for a further 12 months from April 1, 2016 to March 31, 2017.

Friday, 29th July 2016, 3:06 pm
Updated Friday, 29th July 2016, 5:09 pm
Sally O'Kane.

All of these extensions carry a time commitment of one day per week and attract an annual remuneration of £7,960.

Niall Birthistle lives in Derry. He was Executive Director of Adria Ltd in Strabane until 2003. He is currently non executive chairman of R E Cooke Ltd, an engineering company based in Burton on Trent. He is a Trustee of the North West Playhouse and a non executive director of School Employer Connections, a not for profit organization based in Derry. Mr Birthistle was formerly a non executive director of Altnagelvin Hospitals HSS Trust. He holds no other public appointments.

Mrs Stella Cummings worked for Foyle HSS Trust from 1978-2003 and was Programme Manager for Older People with the responsibility for the provision of Social Care Service to the over 65 population.

Niall Birthistle.

In 2007, Mrs Cummings was elected as a Trustee to the Board of the British Red Cross, became a vice chair of the organisation in 2010 and served on this Board as a UK Trustee until her term of office ended in December 2013. Mrs Cummings is a former chair of Roe Valley Disability Action Group. She was first appointed to the Western HSC Trust on 1 April 2007.

Mrs Joan Doherty, a former head teacher, has been appointed to a number of public appointments and has served on a number of Boards throughout the North in varying roles. Mrs Doherty was first appointed to the Western HSC Trust on April 1, 2007.

Mrs Sally O’Kane was Clinical Director of Pharmacy Services at the Altnagelvin Hospitals HSS Trust from 1992-2003

She is also vice chair of the Derry Diocesan Committee of the Council for Catholic Maintained Schools. Mrs O’Kane lives in Derry, and was first appointed to the Western HSC Trust in April 2007.

Niall Birthistle.

The other non executive members of the board are Mrs M Woods, Mr J Campbell and Mr G McIlroy.

The Western Trust Board meet monthly.