This is when Eurovision 2020 is taking place and how to watch

Duncan Laurence of the Netherlands triumphed at the 2019 song contest (Getty Images)Duncan Laurence of the Netherlands triumphed at the 2019 song contest (Getty Images)
Duncan Laurence of the Netherlands triumphed at the 2019 song contest (Getty Images)

The countdown to Eurovision 2020 is on following the announcement of James Newman as United Kingdom's representative.

The singer songwriter will perform his "simple, memorable and anthemic" track My Last Breath in the Netherlands later this year as the UK attempts to break its 23-year wait for a Eurovision win.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Newman won't be hard-pushed to improve on the UK's last effort - Englishman Michael Rice finished in last place at the 2019 event, amassing just 11 points.

When is it?

The semi-finals will take place in the week leading up to the main event on May 12 and May 14.

The final itself takes place on May 16, 2020.

The event will kick-off at 8pm with results filtering through some time before the show's close at 11.40pm.

Where is it?

Tradition states that the Eurovision contest is held in the country of the previous winner.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

The 2019 event was won by Dutchman Duncan Laurence, who performed pop song Arcade, and thus the 2020 event will be held in the Netherlands.

The 16,000 capacity Ahoy arena in the city of Rotterdam will play host host to thousands of pop fans in May.

How can I watch it?

BBC will be providing coverage of the main event, as well as the two semi-finals.

Details on their coverage are expected nearer the big day.

Which countries automatically qualify for the final?

The United Kingdom are one of six countries who automatically qualify for the final of Eurovision 2020.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

France, Germany, Italy, reigning champions Netherlands and Spain make up the other five finalists.

They will be joined by representatives from 20 more European countries.

Full list of entries so far

Albania: Shaj - "Arilena Ara"Armenia: Athena Manoukian – “Chains on You”Australia: Montaigne – “Don’t Break Me”Austria: Vincent Bueno – “Alive”Belgium: Hooverphonic – “Release Me”Cyprus: Sandro – “Running”Czech Republic: Benny Cristo – “KemamaFrance: Tom Leeb – “The Best in Me”Georgia: Tornike Kipiani – “Take Me As I Am”Greece: Stefania – “SUPERG!RL”Italy: Diodato – “Fai rumore”Latvia: Samanta Tīna – “Still Breathing”Lithuania: THE ROOP – “On Fire”Malta: Destiny ChukunyereNorth Macedonia – Vasil – “YOU”Norway: Ulrikke – “Attention”Slovenia: Ana Soklič – “Voda”Spain: Blas Cantó – “Universo”Ukraine: Go_A – “Solovey”United Kingdom: James Newman – "My Last Breath"

My Last Breath

Newman co-wrote My Last Breath with acclaimed British songwriters Ed Drewett, Iain James and Adam Argyle who have collectively written songs for One Direction, Little Mix, Olly Murs, Professor Green, Leona Lewis, Dua Lipa and James Bay.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

He also co-wrote the winning Eurovision song for Azerbaijan, Running Scared performed by Ell & Nikki in 2011.

The elder brother of chart-topper John Newman, James, from the Yorkshire Dales, is signed to Kylie Minogue’s record label, BMG, which put the Eurovision songwriting team together.