ATHLETICS: Countdown to unique Derry Memorial Classic 5k

Runners and walkers from Derry City and beyond will next weekend gather at the Templemore Sports Complex for a unique event aimed at remembering deceased friends, coaches, colleagues and anyone involved in the sport.

Thursday, 8th September 2016, 3:59 pm
Updated Monday, 12th September 2016, 5:04 pm
Organiser Joe McCarthy (second from left) and Mark H Durkan MLA pictured with supporting athletes from Derry and Inishowen at the launch of the 2016 5K Memorial Classic run/walk at Templemore Sports Complex on Wednesday evening last. The event takes place on September 17th next and is being run in memory of everyone formerly involved in athletics. DER3616GS012

The Memorial Classic 5km takes place on Saturday, September 17th at 12.00pm with names of all those being remembered this year being read out before the race followed by one minute’s silence.

Registration for the event takes place this weekend (on Saturday, September 10th) from 12.00pm - 4.00pm at Templemore and on the morning of the race from 9.00am until 11.30am.

All runners and walkers will receive a high-quality technical t-shirt and a goody bag and will be entered in a draw for a wide range of spot prizes.

The race/walk will have chip timing and Foyle MLA Mark H. Durkan, himself a keen runner, will officially start the race.

The course consists of 600m on the Templemore track before taking a left turn up the Linear Path to Lenamore and turning to come back the same route. Organisers have ensured there are no hills of consequence on route, so the slightly less fit competitors and walkers shouldn’t find it too challenging.

There will be prizes for first, second and third overall plus first, second and third female. Category prizes will be spread throughout the age groups beginning at V35 – V70 with two prizes in each category. There will also be prizes for the first and second wheelchair competitors.

The overall winner will receive the ‘Ryan Snodgrass Memorial Shield’; first female will receive the ‘Packy Deehan Memorial Shield’; first junior male will receive the ‘Paddy O’Donnell Memorial Shield’ and first junior female will receive the ‘Mark Farren Memorial Shield’.

If anyone would like a friend or relative included in our roll of honour, they can email: [email protected] or contact us via our Facebook Page.The organisers would like to acknowledge local business who helped sponsor the event without whose help the event could not have taken place.